Skip to content

December already?

December 1, 2009

Thanks to a lot of hard work by the husband, I have a super fast, super clean computer with no signs of herds of trojan horses.  But he did tell me if I managed to get another virus, I would be on my own for reformatting Mr. computer and loading all of my programs back on him.  Sooo, I think I will be extra careful and perhaps downgrade my web surfing from PG to G rated sites.

IT at work gave my work laptop a lot of loving today, too, so I have two very speedy computers.  Can’t complain.

I cannot believe it is December.  Christmas and New Years are right around the corner.  This year, we’re celebrating Christmas with my family on the 12th [yes, you read that right – it was the only weekend we could get together before the beginning of the year] and with Matt’s side of the family [well, adopted family] over Christmas itself.

And we have no New Years plans, whatsoever.  We’ll only be back in town for a couple days at that point so I doubt we’ll feel motivated to do anything but glue our butts to the couch.

Which is exactly what I feel like doing tonight.

For the month of December, I’m challenging myself to to kick up the workouts a notch.  And, uh, since I’ve been averaging twice or so a week, any little bit will be an improvement.  No major rules around it – I like letting workouts be as spur-of-the-moment-whatever-I-feel-like-doing as possible since I so vigorously regiment the rest of my life – but I would like to start practicing yoga once a week and I would like to not let holiday craziness allow me to stop working out completely, which would be easy to do since I’ve not been exactly consistent.

I don’t talk a lot about workouts – that isn’t the main focus of my life nor is it really relevant to Celiac.  In fact, I find that I do best when I focus more on being lifestyle-active, such as NEAT, than spending hours on the stair climber at the gym.  But there is a lot to be said for a good routine, whatever that routine is, and I don’t have one right now. 

Of course, all of this exercise thought didn’t actually get my butt to the gym or on the treadmill upstairs tonight, but I blame that one on the husband who gave me the puppy dog eyes when I announced I was going to the gym.  Totally not my fault I didn’t go.  😉

Dinner tonight was slim pickins from the fridge.  There are a few staples we pretty much always have:  eggs, frozen veggies, soymilk.  I buy those things in bulk, so if I’m running low on them, the fridge is really bare bones.

So tonight was frittata night, which I used to eat all the time.

IMG_0201

(They’re always prettier in the pan)

  • 1 whole egg, 4 egg whites
  • 1/4 c. cottage cheese
  • spinach
  • tri colored bell peppers
  • ancho chile powder
  • ground cumin
  • s+p

Cooked on the stove for a couple minutes until it started to firm up and then in the oven at 350* for about 10 minutes.

Plus an orange and pom seeds.

IMG_0204

IMG_0198

I’d forgotten how much I enjoy pomegranates.  But I don’t think I’d like the seeds in anything.

Tonight is Biggest Loser night!  Nothing better than watching that show while eating chocolate chips and drinking wine.  I’m sure Bob & Jillian would disapprove.  😉

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2009 9:01 AM

    ancho chile powder is the best, isn’t it? It’s the only kind we buy now.

  2. December 2, 2009 5:50 PM

    My Husband bought me the new chains for my Birthday! I love it, actually – Cantrell is amazing. Since Lane is from Seattle they always host the tribute concert and my H and I were able to meet his mom, and my H even worked for their campaign for a few months. I think this is the link to my post about it from my old baby blog: http://littleittybitty.blogspot.com/2009/08/dear-toothfairy.html

  3. February 6, 2012 12:40 AM

    Just chuagt up on your last post. Looks like you and Josh had an absolute blast. Awesome pics! You are one super speedy woman…that's a fast 6 miles.

  4. February 7, 2012 2:25 AM

    MzN5bJ biwkxlzimadc

Leave a Reply

