Skip to content

Procrastination

December 3, 2009

Busy day today.  I have to review all of my employees by 12/31, so I had set a goal of getting it done before Thanksgiving since the end of the year is crazy, but that didn’t happen.  Then I set a goal of getting it done by Wednesday of this week.  And then that got pushed back to getting it done this week, period.  So, tomorrow is the day.

Tonight for dinner, I had one of those “everything in the fridge looks good” nights. and couldn’t figure out what the heck to eat.  So instead of making a meal, I made a bunch of snacks.

First up:  Pickles!!!  I love, love, love the baby kosher dills.  Pickles for me have to be super crunchy, same with grapes.

IMG_0231

Carrot chips and guac.  I’m glad this caught my eye because the guac is set to expire in a few days.

I didn’t end up eating all the carrots after I ran out of guacamole.

IMG_0243

The other half of the acorn squash from the other night, fry-style.

IMG_0247

A leftover chicken breast from last night.  This one was seasoned with Prudhomme’s Poultry Magic, which is pure awesomeness.

IMG_0255

And my newest favorite snack:  an apple with PB&J.

IMG_0268

I’m a creature of habit and I tend to get really excited about a particular food item or food group and eat it to death until I can’t stand it anymore.  I’ve cycled through so many favorite foods/food combos in the last several years:

  • Taco Bueno bean burritos (high school – clearly, before I went GF)
  • Cottage cheese + blueberries + kashi go lean crunch (again, before I went GF)
  • English muffin pizzas
  • Oat bran with blueberries
  • Tuna with salsa (don’t knock it til you try it)
  • String cheese
  • Pickles

I wonder if other people go through this same cycle of food love?  It’s kind of like playing a song over and over and over again because you can’t get enough of it, only to get ridiculously sick of it and not want to hear it again for another year.  I always come back to former food loves (except for the glutenous ones, obviously) eventually.

But newest on the list?  Apples with peanut butter & jelly.  I swear, that stuff is pure heaven.

**

I should be doing homework right now instead of watching Nip / Tuck and blogging, but you know, I just don’t feel like it.  Which means that tomorrow, I’m going to be really mad at myself for leaving it to a Friday night.  Who wants to be doing homework on a Friday night?  Not me.

On the other hand, who wants to screw up their good grade in the class because they’re lazy?

Uh.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2009 9:13 PM

    some great food on display here

  2. Emily permalink
    December 3, 2009 9:18 PM

    I think you told me about it at Foodbuzz but I’m drawing a blank, what class are you taking?

    PB and J with apples sounds delicious! The only food I’ve ever done that to myself with is lemon squares. They were my favorite cookie for years and my freshman year of college my mom sent me a care package of them. I ate the whole thing in the span of two days and have never looked at a lemon cookie since! 🙂

    http://eatventures.wordpress.com

  3. December 4, 2009 10:19 AM

    I got through food love cycles all the time. Oats, green smoothies, all sorts of things.

  4. tastyeatsathome permalink
    December 4, 2009 10:26 AM

    Oh, how I miss, miss, miss those party burritos at Taco Bueno! That’s my husband’s GF fast food place of choice, and the only thing I can eat there now is their gourmet bowl (you know, the one with the black beans and such) sans-meat. And even then, as any restaurant, there’s the risk of CC. The bowl is alright, but not crave-worthy to say the least.

    I do get into food ruts sometimes – like right now I’m in the middle of “boy-I-love-sweet-potatoes” thing. Could seriously eat them every day.

  5. December 5, 2009 6:19 AM

    I def go through huge phases with foods I just want to eat all of the time! This summer it was cantaloupe. Right now its pickles, carrot chips, apples, nut butter and squash (similar lists much??). At least its all good stuff 🙂 Good luck with all the to dos!

  6. December 5, 2009 3:55 PM

    I’m definitely a food cycler. I also have weird cravings for foods that seem to cycle, too… PB&J eaten off a spoon is something I crave for a week straight and then the thought of it turns my stomach the next week! Bodies are weird.

    I’m definitely interested in your oat/cottage cheese pancake recipe! Can you send it to me or post it? My email is adi@oatonomy.com

    Can’t wait!

  7. February 5, 2012 9:54 AM

    Thanks for the rvieew! I've seen this granola all over and can't wait to try.So funny you posted this recipe today… I was literally just thinking when I woke up that I wanted rice and beans! I'd love to win some quick rice 🙂 Thanks!

  8. February 7, 2012 3:34 AM

    Ku92Zf kmflxhsvasbg

Leave a Reply

