Skip to content

Bob’s Old Hag

December 5, 2009

I have a normal Friday morning managers meeting every week.  It’s simply an FYI type meeting where all the department heads get together to let everyone know what we’re currently working on and what we see coming down the tube.  Usually it lasts about an hour and a half and it occasionally lasts 2 hours when we branch more into discussion than FYIs.

Yesterday, it lasted 3-1/2 hours.  Ugh.

The worst part was that I had a completely full day without considering the meeting.  If I had been chained to my desk from 8-5, I still don’t think I would have gotten everything done.

And then I had an impromptu conference call that lasted 1-1/2 hours.

We certainly have a lot of people that like to talk in this company.

Needless to say, I didn’t get my reviews done.  I didn’t get half of what I wanted to get done period.  The plan was to work until 5:30, then work on homework until I got it done.  I expected it to be a late night; what I didn’t expect was that it would be a 9PM type of late night.

Part of burning the midnight oil was eating dinner at my desk.

A frozen, unexciting, unphotographable dinner.

IMG_0273

You know how frozen dinners have a really gorgeous picture on the front?  I mean, it makes sense.  If Amy’s took the picture above and stuck it on the front of their box, no one would buy it.  But it sure is deceiving.

This was a Garden Vegetable Lasagna with Rice Pasta.  It isn’t bad for frozen meal but it has to be cut up and mushed around and stuck back in the microwave for an additional 30 seconds after cooking per the package instructions or the middle doesn’t get cooked.

I actually had two of these yesterday – one for lunch and one for dinner.  Poor me.

This morning, I slept in til 10 and leisurely drank coffee and read the news before we headed out to do some dreaded Christmas shopping.

The thing is, I like things.  I like getting new clothes – I love getting new shoes – and I don’t even mind unloading the car and putting my new possessions away when I get home.

But I hate shopping.

Before I get kicked out of the girl club, I should note that I do not mind buying things online.  That type of shopping I really like.  It’s navigating my way around stores full of people moving at the speed of a snail and blocking aisles with their carts.  It’s the employees checking you out that spend more time talking to you about how busy they were that morning than scanning your items to where you simply want to jump over the cash register, push them out of your way, and scan the items yourself.

Impatient much?

Well yes.  That’s why the husband and I get along so well.  He’s even more impatient than I am.

I did see something this morning during the hell-like shopping experience that I thought I would share.

IMG_0277

What is that, you might ask?

That is a minivan with a bumper sticker that says “I love my husband”.

I surely hope that her husband (or his – I guess I can’t be certain it’s a she except that gay marriage is still illegal in Texas) has one on his matching minivan that says “I love my wife”.

I can’t really express why this bothers me so much.  Obviously, I love my husband, too… I just feel it is almost self-deprecating to plaster it on my vehicle.  Perhaps it bothers me because I feel like women have come so far.  This is akin to wearing a nametag that says “Bob’s Old Hag.”

But:  to each her own, I guess.

I have plans to make pizza for dinner and and work on a crafty stocking stuffer I’m making.

But for now…

IMG_0282

I’ve got my yoga pants (hoping they inspire me to do yoga), fuzzy pink socks, and a Bushmills and Diet Coke.  Total relaxation.

Better stop complaining.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2009 4:42 AM

    Hahahaaha, I was wondering where you were going with the Bob’s Old Hag!

  2. December 6, 2009 5:06 PM

    So I shouldn’t get you that bumper sticker for Christmas 😉 Sorry Friday was such a long day but super glad to hear you’re having a nice Sunday

  3. janeterin permalink
    December 6, 2009 9:00 PM

    I hate those bumper stickers, too! Especially the ones with all their kids’ names. It just seems…dangerous.

    Wishing you a better Monday than last Friday!!

Leave a Reply

