Skip to content

Gone Camping

December 7, 2009

We had a very interesting weekend after I last left you.

It’s nice and chilly here in Dallas… chilly meaning 35* or so.  Drizzly, too.  Perfect Holiday weather. 

I was feeling so much in the holiday mood that I decided we should light the first fire of the season, which also just so happens to be the first fire in this fireplace.  So I called my Dad, because he’s who I call anytime I have a non-cleaning house question (my Mom gets her fair share of cooking and cleaning questions even though I’ve lived on my own for 7 years now), and followed his instructions.

Unfortunately, I must have not followed something right because after about an hour after I lit the fire, the house started smelling smoky.  So we turned the gas off.   About 4 hours after we turned off the fire, we went to bed. 

Fast forward to 5:00 AM – only 4 hours after we went to bed but 8 hours after the fire was out – and we awake to the fire alarm.

And a fire.

Thankfully, the fire was contained in the fireplace, but seriously?  8 hours after the fire was out it spontaneously reignites?

So the fire alarms were going off and the house was rather smoky and the husband gets the bright idea to open the windows… with the burglar alarm still on.

So now, the fire alarms AND the burglar alarm are going off.

At 5:00 AM on a Sunday.

After 4 hours of sleep.

Fortunately, we got the burglar alarm and fire alarms turned off and opened a bunch of windows to start airing the house out.  The husband sacrificed his sleep and stayed up while the new fire burned itself out (permanently, we hope) and I managed to go back to bed for another 5 hours.

And now the fire is gone… but the smell lives on.

We’ve tried everything to get the smell out.  I worry that we’re going to have a hell of a time trying to get the campfire smell out of the house.  The cats are going to get their annual bath and my dry cleaners just might think they’ve died and gone to heaven when they see how many clothes I bring in to them in the next week.

Oh, and I think I might not bother taking a shower tomorrow as within half an hour after stepping out of the shower this morning I smelled like I’d taken up chain smoking.  I did take a can of Febreeze outside and took a second bath (in a can) before driving to work but it only helped for so long.

So bad smell and all kinda sucked, but the food this weekend was pretty tasty.

Saturday Night Pizza

IMG_0287

IMG_0294

  • Pizza Crust
  • sauce
  • mozzarella, cheddar, fontina, and parm
  • green pepper
  • spinach
  • Hormel turkey pepperoni

And then I had a little love affair with my new best friend.  Oh Ghiradelli, why do you have to come out with such delicious chocolatey goodness?

IMG_0295

They’re as good as they sound.  🙂

Lunch was an egg sandwich, which had sounded delicious for a couple weeks and I finally got excited enough about it to make it. 

IMG_0307

IMG_0317

If you’re wondering how I managed to eat it, well it was kind of difficult.  But a good kind of difficult.

Pretty simple:

  • Kinnikinnick bread
  • 2 whole eggs, “fried”
  • slice of colby jack
  • tomato
  • spinach
  • a little mayo

I had a couple more Pecan Pie Ghiradellis after my sandwich.  They are glorious.

Dinner was glorious as well.

We figured we might as well grill if our house was going to smell like a campfire anyway, so we decided on hamburgers for dinner.

Good choice because this was fabulous.  It probably had something to do with the fact that the butcher shaped the patties for us shortly before we brought them home and cooked them.  With hamburgers, the less touching the beef gets, the better.

IMG_0337

Plus extra pickles straight from the jar.  Pickles are glorious.

You know what else is glorious?

IMG_0341

That would be a chocolate chip cookie bar with a Haagen Dazs hat.  Ahhhh.

For dinner tonight, I brought back an old favorite. 

IMG_0356

IMG_0363

Mac n cheese, peas, and applesauce.

And as if I really need more chocolate, I’m going to wrap up my glorious Monday (uh, not so much) with another cookie + ice cream combo.

Happy Monday-Is-Over!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2009 3:04 AM

    I have some peppermint bark in the pantry – I am afraid to open it as I may not be able to stop eating it! Ghiradelli makes the best chocolate combos!

  2. December 8, 2009 4:47 AM

    Yikes! That is crazy about the fire. Glad everything turned out OK, though.

  3. Emily permalink
    December 8, 2009 5:02 PM

    Yikes! I’m glad everything is ok. You could try lighting a lot of candles, I know more fire sounds counterintuitive but isn’t something about the burning supposed to absorb smells? Either way, that egg sandwich looks super yummy!

    http://eatventures.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

