Skip to content

Fuel

December 9, 2009

Last week, I mentioned that I wanted to step up the workouts in December.  I attempted yoga once (still need to TiVo some yoga classes or take one at the gym before I can really do it on my own) and did some treadmill time, but today was the first trip to the gym since then.

And boy am I sore.

I lifted back + chest and did 25 minutes on the revolving staircase from hell.  I forgot to bring a magazine so I was quite bored, but I did a lot of people watching to pass the time.  The workout was pretty much fabulous.  I love working out, I just don’t love devoting the time to it.

I had a decent day at work  but didn’t get a lot done.  It occurred to me today that I only have this week and next before vacation… and I’m so not ready.  I still have reviews to do… I’ve been putting those off for long enough that I just don’t have an excuse any longer.

So while work went OK, I got an email after hours – actually, right  before I got out of my car in the gym parking lot – that made me mad enough to fuel the entire workout.  Emails are one of the easiest forms of business communication, but possibly the worst for actual communication.  Tone and emotion are absent in email, so something can come across in a completely different way than it is meant.  Things are also often put in emails that no one would tell someone to their face.  (Guess that can be a good or bad thing).

Anyway, I’m still fuming and am thinking I’m just going to have to put the laptop and blackberry away for the night or I’ll sit here and stew about it until 3 AM.  I know I shouldn’t let myself get so worked up about silly things, but I do.

But moving on…

Dinner was a perfect post-workout combo:  protein and carbs.

IMG_0382

IMG_0394

Thanksgiving dessert flavors in a bowl:

  • fage 2%
  • 1/4 c. plain Dannon yogurt
  • 1/4 c. pumpkin
  • 2 small honeycrisp apples
  • cranberry sauce
  • stevia, cinnamon, and pumpkin pie spice

Yes, that cranberry sauce is leftover from Thanksgiving.  It looked fine, smelled fine, tasted fine.  I’m on the “if it doesn’t have mold on it or smell/taste funny, it’s kosher” bandwagon but once there is even a hint of mold or something similar, it’s in the trash. 

I also had leftover butternut squash fries from last night – I was too full after the burger and pasta to eat them all. 

About to settle down with a glass (or several) of wine + some chocolate chips and snuggle with the husband and kitties and try to forget about stupid emails.

Night!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2009 5:03 AM

    Grrr…I hate it when I get all boiled up like that about something work related. I was that way yesterday and the day before and it does not make me happy. Booo hiss on pissy emails.

  2. December 10, 2009 6:52 AM

    ugh- I hate emails like that. So frustrating. Glad it fueled your workout though! What a great bowl of deliciousness. I just got some apple/cranberry butter from TJs, so I feel like I’m having thanksgiving over and over again 🙂

Leave a Reply

