Skip to content

It’s beginning to look a lot like..

December 13, 2009

CHRISTMAS!

Well, not the weather here in Dallas – the high is 73* today.  Crazy.

Yesterday we spent the day with my parents, celebrating Christmas since we will be in South Carolina for the actual holiday.

The plan was to get ready after we drank coffee in the morning and head over.  We stopped by the grocery store near my parents house to find some Silk Nog, but no luck.  I was just there a few weeks ago and they had a whole shelf full of it, but nothing today.

One of my favorite Christmas traditions is eating Eggs Benedict on Christmas morning, so that’s what we did.

IMG_0461

IMG_0460

IMG_0456

A-mazing.  I wish I could eat this for breakfast everyday, but my arteries would not thank me.  It’s also a lot of trouble to make.

The rest of the day consisted of a present-opening (I got a lot of great presents – more on that tonight), a lot of laying around the house and relaxing, and a good portion of Ghiradelli chocolate eating (I got a bag of squares in my stocking). 

For dinner, the rest of the family ordered chinese to eat while we watched one of the movies my Dad received as a present – We Are Marshall – so we ran by the store and got me an Amy’s pizza and a salad.

IMG_0481

I wasn’t very impressed with this pizza.  It was a lot more visually appealing than my homemade pizza, but it wasn’t all that good.  It had a weird aftertaste and was very calorically dense.  I beefed it up with some turkey pepperoni and chopped peppers from my salad.

The one upside to the pizza, though, is its convenience.  It was nice to be able to pick up something pre-made that was GF.

IMG_0473

The salad had mixed greens and spinach, tons of bell peppers, green beans, and cucumbers.  I topped it with some Dark Cherry Balsamic vinegar.

All in all, a really great day with family.  🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2009 1:47 PM

    Where is SC will you be? If you’re near Charleston, we’re meeting up for a misto!

    Sounds like a great day- can’t wait to hear about all the fab presents you got. Bummer about the pizza- thank goodness the rest of the eats were awesome! The eggs look incredible.

  2. December 13, 2009 3:02 PM

    I’ve never seen those Amy’s rice crust pizzas before. Although, that’s not really surprising since the selection of Amy’s food is miserable in Ottawa.

    What a great time with family! That’s what the holidays are for.

Leave a Reply

