Skip to content

Liquid Green

December 13, 2009

I got a lot of cool things from my parents yesterday.  To name a few:

  • a book on Alcatraz (you all may remember how fascinated I am)
  • a book on photography (so if my photos go from amateur to professional, that may be why)
  • 2 JCrew turtlenecks (another obsession of mine – love them)
  • a very generous Amazon.com gift card to buy practically anything

and…

A JUICER!

IMG_0484

All ready to juice

IMG_0486

(Note the open window, gazillion candles, and plastic containers of ground coffee and vinegar:  our house still smells smoky)

And the finished product.

IMG_0488

  • 1/2 head romaine
  • 1 cucumber
  • 1 lemon
  • 1 green apple
  • 4 carrots

Pretty amazing if I do say so myself.  I did add some stevia because it wasn’t sweet at all and I would probably cut the lemon down to half next time.  Also, I forgot the ginger.

But for the first time?  Awesome.

I see a LOT of juicing in my future.  This was easy to use, super easy to cleanup, and very quick.  Thanks Mom and Dad!

**

The rest of the afternoon flew by because we played one of my Christmas presents from Matt (he gave me my diamond studs back in October):  Mario Brothers for the Wii.

Super-Mario-taps-Japanese-celebs-for-ad-campaign

[ Source ]

It’s actually a somewhat funny story.  My husband is really great at coming up with surprises for every occasion.  Birthdays, Christmas, Anniversaries – he always finds something cool and totally unexpected.  This year, he found the Mario game and thought it would be the perfect little something that I would never expect.

Until I came home a few weeks ago and announced I’d added it to my Amazon wish list.  One of my friends had posted on Facebook about watching their husband play it, which was the first I’d heard about it. 

Since he had to tell me he’d already bought it so that I or someone else wouldn’t buy it, he gave it to me when it arrived, which makes it even cooler!

And the verdict after playing it?  It’s awesome.  The 2 player thing makes it harder in some levels but easier when you’re trying to beat Bowser.

**

After some completely unproductive Mario time, we broke for dinner.

When we went to the grocery store to pick up my pizza yesterday, we also picked up some Chilean Sea Bass and Gulf Shrimp for dinner tonight.  I wanted asparagus but couldn’t find any, so I grabbed some brussels sprouts instead.

As a general rule, I love vegetables.  I like them prepared in some ways better than others, but I generally like all vegetables.

The exception has been brussels sprouts and beets.  I’ve only had brussels sprouts once and they were awful.  I think they were boiled and to say they were under seasoned is an understatement.

But I’ve heard so many people talk about not only liking them, but loving them.  So I decided to give them another try.  I figured that I haven’t had anything coated in olive oil, kosher salt and pepper and roasted that I haven’t liked, so I sliced them in half, prepped them, and threw them in the oven. 

The result?

Pure awesomeness.

IMG_0494

The rest of the meal was good, too, but I couldn’t stop eating these babies.

We prepared the sea bass with a lemon garlic sauce (the same way we did the halibut a couple months ago) and made Barbecued Shrimp, which is a misnomer – not sure why it’s called that.  Plus rice to sop up all the sauce.

IMG_0499

This was delicious.  It’s nice to be able to get semi-fresh seafood now.  In Oklahoma, any seafood was previously frozen or horrifically old.

As for beets?  I’m pretty sure I will continue to hate those, so unless someone wants to come to my house and cook me a gourmet meal containing beets, I’m going to abstain.

The dishes are washed and put away and we have two cozy kitties snuggling on the couch with us.  I have finals this week (ugh) and a lot of work deadlines – STILL HAVEN’T FINISHED THOSE REVIEWS – so I’m going to work on sales taxes tonight to get an edge on tomorrow.

Night!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2009 11:15 PM

    You will love having a juicer!!!
    AND confession time: I LOVE Mario! I am such a Nintendo nerd – my all time favorite game is Zelda. We don’t have a Wii yet but I do have a GameCube AND I still have my original Nintendo! With the games that you have to blow to make work… 😉
    Sounds and looks like you had an amazing Christmas with your family!

  2. December 14, 2009 5:42 AM

    Nice loot! I want a juicer but this year the canon rebel xsi kind of won out over everything else.

    We love playing the wii, it is so addictive!

  3. December 14, 2009 6:24 AM

    Great gifts from both the parents and the man! I love jcrew turtles too- could there be anything more comfortable? Dinner looks fabulous- especially the brussels (YUM)

  4. December 14, 2009 4:47 PM

    I don’t know if I can even express how much I LOVE Brussels sprouts. They are freaking awesome. Did you try them at the Foodbuzz fest?

    Anyway, enjoy your juicer 🙂 Bobby just got that game too; he’s bugging me to play it with him.

  5. December 14, 2009 7:31 PM

    Glad you loved the brussel sprouts! I’ve only ever had them roasted, but have heard that boiling them or steaming them doesn’t exactly bring out their best qualities…

    I’m a huge Mariokart fan, but more for Super Nintendo than Wii. I’m still old school. 🙂

  6. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 3, 2010 10:37 AM

    Ph man, I’m a huge fan of roasted sprouts! Yummy!

    Heather @ http://www.forthehealthofit01.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

