Skip to content

Flat Tires + Oranges

December 14, 2009

I woke up this morning at 4 AM.  I don’t know if it’s stress or my body’s way of not letting me forget important things, but I often wake up right after falling asleep or sometime in the middle of the night thinking about something I’ve either forgotten to do or definitely need to remember to do.  It’s annoying, but really useful.

My 4 AM brainstorming session reminded me of several things I had forgotten about.  I did have a minor heart attack – always pleasant at 4 AM – when I realized I hadn’t done them yet, but I managed to fall back asleep after making a mental to-do list and woke up with my alarm, ready and raring to go.

Unfortunately, my car did not concur and my back left tire was flatter than a pancake and things started to go downhill from there.

  • Spent 15 minutes trying to wake the husband up so he could drive me to work
  • Husband decided we needed to fix the flat rather than leaving it alone today and taking it in tonight
  • Found out my AAA membership expired, which meant we had to change the tire ourselves
  • Couldn’t find my spare tire
  • Couldn’t find my manual

Fortunately, the husband has all things car-related under control and put a donut on.  We drove  s  l  o  w  l  y  to the repair shop, dropped her off, and Matt drove me to work… 1-1/2 hours late.

The rest of the day was rather painless and decently productive, for a change.  My car was ready around lunchtime – turns out there was a huge utility knife blade in the tire – so we picked it up and ran by the bank to get our Homestead Exemption application notarized.  If you live in Texas and own a house, you definitely need to look into applying.

Finals are this week – both exams are due Wednesday – and I have a plethora of other things (*cough* reviews *cough*) to do before we leave on Saturday.  So I stayed at the office til 8 and cranked out 2/3 of one of the exams. 

Since I was at the office during dinnertime, I had a mac & cheese with peas.  Plus leftover brussels sprouts that were even better today than yesterday, if that is even possible.  I hoovered them up while waiting for the mac & cheese to cook, so no pic.

IMG_0501

Pretty?  No.  But good?  Oh yes.

I couldn’t resist breaking out the juicer again when I got home.  I should probably start following recipes, though – throwing everything in the produce drawer into the juicer makes for an interesting result.

IMG_0507

Clearly I was feeling the orange vibe from the first part of dinner.

  • 1/2 head romaine
  • large handful spinach
  • 5 big carrots
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 1 green apple
  • 1 orange, peeled
  • 1/2 lemon
  • stevia

I probably wouldn’t add an orange to this combo again, but it’s not too bad.

Another Monday down, only 4 more days until vacation!  What are you looking forward to this week?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 5:14 AM

    What a way to start a Monday. Glad they got the tire taken care of. Good luck with the exams. I am most looking forward to sleeping in on Sunday (Is that sad?)

  2. December 16, 2009 9:26 AM

    i love the sound of that juice – yum!

    Glad they got the tire done, and good luck with your exams!

    I’m looking forward to watching my husband graduate on Friday and seeing family 🙂

Leave a Reply

