Skip to content

3 Apples and a Funeral

December 15, 2009

Today I attended the funeral of a coworker’s daughter.  She was 21 and died during an unexpected seizure last Friday morning.

It’s amazing to think how quickly life can change.

The funeral service was well done.  It was brief – maybe 30 minutes – and to the point.  All other funerals I’ve been to have had speakers, though, and this one did not – only the pastor.  About 8 of us – several of his direct reports and then the rest of the managers – attended from the company and we sent flowers and a sympathy card as well.

He and his wife were holding up OK, but he looked like he had lost 10 lbs in the past 5 days.  There isn’t anything I could have said that would have fixed the problem or made them feel better.  I hate it when people are hurting.  😦

You have to wonder – maybe some of you have been through it and know (I hope not) – what really helps during such a difficult time.  Does distraction work or does it only put off the inevitable?  Does it matter that someone came to the service but not the viewing, or the service but not the burial?  Does any of that even resonate during such a grieving period?

After the funeral, I had a badly needed appointment with my hair gal, who made me a blonde again.  I feel reborn!  😉  Hair lady also gave me a couple coupons for Bed, Bath, and Beyond that I will be using to purchase the one last Christmas gift of the season.  Actually, I’m really hoping the husband will feel the desire to run that errand tomorrow.  *hint, hint*

Since we are leaving on Saturday, I had an eat-what-needs-to-be-eaten-not-what-you-want-to-eat meal.

[ What I really wanted to eat was a GF english muffin with cream cheese.  So good but it will still be fresh when we come back ]

IMG_0513

Tuna salad on a salad.

  • romaine
  • celery
  • carrots
  • zucchini
  • red pepper
  • packet water-packed tuna
  • 1/4 c. cottage cheese
  • 1 T. mayo
  • s+p
  • lemon juice

I made a dent on the produce drawer.  🙂

Tomorrow I’m going to spend working on the last exam of the semester.  I’m ready to be done!

[Oh, and the 3 apples?  Snacks for the day – easy, good, and portable!]

Share

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 10:07 PM

    I am so sorry to hear about this unfortunate event – I am so terrible when it comes to death and funerals. I always seem to get very anxious and uncomfortable… =(
    But cool that you got new hair! I need a trip to the salon STAT!

  2. December 16, 2009 5:00 AM

    Sorry about your co-workers daughter. My brother died in a car accident just over five years ago at the age of 25. I only remember a couple of moments during that period of time, he was a police officer and had hundreds of people there. I don’t think I remember who was where but I do remember being honored that so many people cared about him or respected his occupation, at least. So, I think that is all that really matters in the end, having the support of people.

  3. December 16, 2009 5:20 AM

    So sad. I never know what to say to people when they’re going through stuff like that. Good luck with the last bit of work. Almost there!!!

Leave a Reply

