Skip to content

Sometimes you feel like a nut

December 16, 2009

sometimes you don’t.

Anyone else like Almond Joys?  One of my favorite candy bars.  Wish they didn’t have to use corn syrup.

I posted a while back about how I believe blogging at least semi-influences what the blogger eats.  In a lot of ways, it’s a good thing – I’m less likely to snack all night and more likely to eat a defined dinner.  But sometimes eating what sounds good wins out over packing in the veggies.

Speaking of, I don’t think I consumed a single veggie today.  All I’ve wanted to eat today are those addictive english muffins from Kinnikinnick.  They’re soft, doughy, and have a pleasant, mild flavor.

A while ago – actually, I think it was around a year ago – I had some leftover cream cheese from a cheesecake I’d made and decided that I’d missed the bagel + cream cheese combo for far too many years, so I smeared some on an english muffin and the lightbulb went off.  I swear, this stuff is good.

Christie posted this morning about off-limit foods.  Besides the foods I’m allergic to, I eat what I want, when I want to… unless I start noticing that that’s all I’m eating.  I had to stop buying the english muffins and cream cheese because I was eating them for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  That’s not moderation and I was sorely missing out on other foods that would have been more nutritionally sound choices.

But last weekend, I happened to see some cream cheese at the store and decided to give it another try.

IMG_0534

IMG_0529

It’s simple.  But it probably wouldn’t work as well if the english muffins tasted like gluten-y english muffins.

In high school, my staple breakfast was a bagel, plain or wheat, split and buttered, than broiled until the butter melted and the edges just started to brown.  I’d take it out of the oven and slather cold cream cheese on.  The combo of the hot bagel, warm buttery inside, and cold cream cheese was amazing. 

To round it out, I also had an apple with pb&j.

IMG_0526

Hmm.  Looks like I probably should have washed the top of the apple a little better before I ate it.  I’m counting on the dirt to make my immune system invincible.  😉

**

I turned in 1 of my 2 finals today and am about 1/3 of the way, maybe a little more, done with the other one.  I’ll finish it up over lunch tomorrow plus a little time after work.

2 more days until vacation!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2009 5:21 AM

    Oh yah, blog world has def influenced my eats…but more in terms of new products I’ve tried and incorporated what I eat/when. I’m a mini meal-er by nature. Cream cheese is yummy. I saw a recipe yesterday for pumpkin bread with a layer of sweetened cream cheese baked into the middle. I may or may not still be drooling. Good luck with the last final!!

  2. December 17, 2009 7:45 AM

    I am going to look for those english muffins this weekend at Whole Foods, are they in the frozen section?

  3. tastyeatsathome permalink
    December 18, 2009 2:23 PM

    So I haven’t made this yet, but I am going to! For the Almond Joy lovers – Ginger Lemon Girl made this pie. http://gingerlemongirl.blogspot.com/2008/11/almond-joy-impossible-pie-gluten-free.html
    Looks pretty easy, and I could probably eat the whole thing. Just saying.

Leave a Reply

