Skip to content

Christmas #2

December 22, 2009

What could be better than a year with more than 2 Christmases? 

Last night, I set the alarm for a respectable 9:30 EST and got up pretty easily this morning.  My MIL was making pancakes for everyone, which looked delicious but would have killed me, so I stuck with coffee while doing a little work.  I do love smelling pancakes and other baked goods even if I can’t eat them.

The plan was to put in an hour and a half or a little more of work and then sign off for the day, but we ended up going to the grocery store (Publix! My first ever trip!) before I got done working, so I had to pick it back up when we got back. 

Publix seems to be pretty commonplace on the south east coast, but we don’t have any anywhere near Dallas that I can tell, so I was interested to see what one was like.  (Yes, it’s clearly the small things that excite me.  Only a food blogger would be excited about visiting a grocery store.) 

To be honest, I didn’t think Publix was anything special, except they did have a good selection of frozen GF meals (namely Amy’s) and Silk Nog (!!!) which I’ve been looking for for weeks.  The staff was super friendly, though, and tracked down some Wholly Guacamole for me when I couldn’t find it.

When we got back, I finished up the report I was working on and went for a run.  I love running in the cold and don’t get a lot of opportunities to do so in Dallas – when it actually is cold, it’s dark and I try my hardest to never run in the dark.  It was a quick one – 30 minutes or so – and I have no idea how far I went but it was glorious none the less.

For lunch, I threw together a giant yogurt bowl.

IMG_0595 

If you look very closely under the massive pile of apple, you can see the pumpkin yogurt.

  • 1/2 c. 0% Chobani
  • 1/2 c. plain Danon
  • 1/3 c. pumpkin
  • splenda + pumpkin pie spice

IMG_0601 

I could barely finish it even though I had been ready to gnaw off my arm earlier.  I also had at least 7 prunes, straight from the package.  Prunes are really a dangerous animal – really delicious so you’d love to sit down with a fork and the package, but definitely not a food you want to eat an entire package of at once.

After I showered, the rest of the afternoon was spent hanging around the house.  Thanks to Betty Crocker, I whipped up a batch of GF chocolate chip cookies that I have done my best to insist everyone tries.  I’ve mentioned this before, but I have given up on making chocolate chip cookies from scratch – Betty Crocker’s mix is so superior that I just don’t see any reason to continue trying to find the “perfect” recipe since I’m pretty convinced anything that’s wrong with Betty Crocker’s mix is cancelled out by the fact that it takes about 0.2 seconds to make. 

I did eat my fair share of cookie dough.  I think cookie dough is the best part of cookies.  One day, I’m going to make cookies without the intention of ever baking them.  😉

The ladies were making Christmas light earrings for my MIL to take to work with her in the morning (she’s a nurse).  I helped out some but don’t be on the lookout for any Etsy store from me anytime soon.  :)  However, my SIL, R,  makes really cool jewelry and made me some pretty starfish earrings while I watched.

DSC_0100

R sweeping in to save the day after I got a little heavy handed with the pliers.  🙂

Tonight was Christmas.  A. and R. are going to Mississippi to see her family for Christmas, so tonight was the best time for everyone to do it. 

We sat around opening presents for quite a while and had a blast.  I love all of my in laws.

DSC_0147

See the black blanket on my lap?  My MIL made that for me!  It’s adorable, soft, and warm – black fleece with white paw prints.

Matt also got a blanket and decided using it to hide from the camera would be its greatest use.  These blankets are going to go perfectly with our living room decor.

DSC_0116

All of my presents were awesome.  Some I fell in love with immediately.

IMG_0621

They know me all too well.

After present opening, I made a quasi-dinner. 

More prunes and 2 cheese sticks, which went unpictured, and 2 rice cakes with PB&J.

IMG_0637

I had planned on having some sort of big bowl of vegetables (I bought plenty today) after lunch or with dinner, but when it came down to it, I just wasn’t all that interested in taking the time to make them.  I should have fit them in somehow.

However, I did manage to find room for these babies:

IMG_0643

x2.  Yum.

Off to drink a little grown up egg nog (Silk Nog + whiskey) and cuddle with Wiggles, who eagerly stole Matt’s spot on the couch next to me in the 3 seconds he was in the bathroom.  🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2009 11:53 PM

    Hey there! I actually don’t, we moved up to the Denver area about a year and a half ago. Sometimes I miss it though!

  2. December 23, 2009 5:23 AM

    So glad you are having a great time.

    Oh, and don’t give up on the cookies yet. I have modified Elana’s pantry recipe and they turn out awesome. My latest combo is chocolate chocolate chip with marshmallows and peanut butter chips. For real. Let me know if you want my version of the recipe. I haven’t posted it yet because I think I am going to write her and ask her how she feels about it since I keep modifying her recipes. She basically has taught me how to bake with almond flour.

  3. December 23, 2009 6:23 AM

    I ❤ publix. Mostly because its really clean and they have really great generic products. They're only in the Southern portion of the east coast. Looks like a fun day! I want your yogurt mess for my lunch today!! Glad you got some jammin presents and had some fun treats. Enjoy your Wednesday

  4. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 3, 2010 10:45 AM

    Oh mna, I get really excited to visit a new grocery store. Sometimes just as excited to go to the one downthe street. lol. We are strange people.

    Heather @ http://www.forthehealthofit01.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

