Skip to content

Marshmallow Man

December 23, 2009

We did a couple fun things today when we weren’t laying around the house, being unproductive (aka doing what you’re supposed to be doing while on vacation):

  • Went to the Michelin store.  Might not seem significant to you, but I love, love, love the Michelin man.  How could I not?  He looks like a giant fluffy white marshmallow!
  • Went to see Avatar in 3D.  One word to describe it:  Meh.

I also only ate a few things besides cookies today.  Tis the season, right?

This morning, we went to the Michelin store.

IMG_0660

I wanted to buy everything, but exercised great restraint.  I did get a pair of yoga pants and a hoodie, though.

We also walked around downtown Greenville a bit.  The Reedy River cuts through downtown and has some pretty ‘waterfalls’, if you can call them that.

IMG_0667

Finally got my veggies in at lunch with a couple pounds’ worth of roasted brussels.  Clearly, I am on a ‘sprouts kick lately.

IMG_0673 

So good.

I roasted them at 400* today for about 23 minutes.  I think I like them best this way – super creamy on the inside and nicely charred on the outside.

After eating my giant bowl – this is much bigger than it looks – I took a nap.  This would not be significant except that I rarely ever take naps any more.  Before I was diagnosed, I was so tired I slept all the time.  I’ve always been a nap-taker, but I got to the point that I was almost unable to function without a 2+ hour nap every day. 

Vacation calls for naps, though, and I am happy to oblige.

After my nap, we ate a quick dinner – leftover sandwiches for everyone else and a frozen dinner for me.

I had never had any of Amy’s Indian meals before, but have heard good things about them.  Matt and I really like Indian food.  We used to go to a great little authentic place in Oklahoma (of all places to have a great authentic Indian restaurant…) but once I went GF, we never went back.  Actually, the last time we ate there, we went directly from there to the ER, as my appetizer of nan + hummus plus extra nan before dinner plus my dinner that also contained nan literally about killed me. 

So, I had high hopes for my Indian meal but didn’t quite know what to expect.

00253

This was the Paneer Tikka from Amy’s and boy it was good!  It was perfectly seasoned and after trying each part separately, I mixed it all together and enjoyed it even more.

IMG_0693

Really resembles the picture on the box, right?  😉

After dinner (and cookies for dessert), we went to see Avatar.  I wasn’t all that excited about seeing it, but figured that given the hoopla surrounding it, we might as well.

I liked it better than I thought I would, but still not as much as I would have hoped.  The graphics were fantastic, but the story left a lot to be desired.  The plot was written to appeal to 14 year olds and there were major holes in the story where they completely left out the background for several important parts. 

For as long as it was (2-1/2 hours), it left a lot of (what I think is) relevant story out and packed in too much filler.  Kind of like Titanic.

We just got back and I ate more prunes (watch out brussels sprouts, I may have a new food love!), drank spiked Silk Nog, and am sipping some wine.  But my eyelids are quickly drooping and bed looks pretty exciting.

Night!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2009 2:40 AM

    I have never had indian food before! Can you believe it??! I have always wanted to, but just have never gone. I might have to check this out next time I am in the freezer isle.

  2. December 24, 2009 4:38 AM

    You should try prunes dipped in chocolate 🙂

  3. December 24, 2009 6:29 AM

    ow brussels. I could eat you for every meal. They are best roasted, although I enjoy them shredded up in a bake too. Deliciousness. Enjoy the rest of your vaca

Leave a Reply

