Skip to content

The last Christmas Eve of 2009

December 24, 2009

Ironic:  we left Texas to spend Christmas in South Carolina, where our flight was delayed by 36 hours last weekend because a major snowstorm was terrorizing the East Coast.  It should be a shoo-in to be far colder here than in Dallas.  Instead, it’s snowing like crazy in Dallas right now and there isn’t a flake in the sky here in SC. 

We had a really relaxing day today.  So relaxing, in fact, that we never even left the house.

Brunch was a repeat from earlier this week.

IMG_0707

  • 1/2 c. 0% chobani
  • 1/2 c. full fat plain dannon
  • 1/2 c. punkin
  • punkin pie spice + splenda
  • enormous, chernobyl-grown honeycrisp apple

IMG_0714 

Brunch was followed by more cookies, which I am pleased to say are now gone.  Gone!

After eating, we bummed around a bit before starting dinner and watched Extract (by the creator of Office Space) which was pretty good.  Not quite as good as Office Space, but good.

Dinner was excellent.

IMG_0727

Clockwise, from top:  Potatoes Au Gratin, roasted brussels, steamed green beans, cumin-and-cinnamon roasted veggies, jerk grilled chicken, and greens.

IMG_0731

I made the potatoes and roasted brussels (yes, again), my SIL A. brought the greens (a mix of collard and mustard, I believe) and roasted veggies, which was zucchini, squash, onion, carrot, and eggplant with a lot of cumin, cinnamon, curry, and other spices, and my MIL and BIL made the chicken and green beans.  There was also homemade apple butter that we dipped the chicken in.

I had seconds on the greens, brussels, and potatoes. 

IMG_0738

A-mazing meal.  We all sat around the table talking about how good it was.  I ate my greens and potatoes mixed together – they’re really great that way.

I love eating meals like this and really wish we lived closer.  Great company, fantastic food.  What could be better?

I also love that my SIL A’s idea of a great meal also includes 4 different veggie dishes.  Wish we could get together to eat veggies more often!

After about an hour of channel flipping to find a decent movie, we settled on Driven to Kill, a Steven Seagal movie… not because it’s decent, but because it is going to be so bad as to be worth it to laugh at.

A couple of glasses of eggnog + whiskey and some wine and hopefully I’ll not care how bad the movie is.

To bed in a few hours and then it’s…

CHRISTMAS!

Hope you all have a warm, safe, and joyous one with your family and friends!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 25, 2009 5:19 AM

    Merry Christmas!

  2. December 25, 2009 7:24 AM

    What a great dinner! I’m so with you! I often dine on multiple veggies with a side of protein and it always ends up being an awesome meal. I’ve never tried mustard greens- I need to put them on the to try list. Merry Christmas to you!!

  3. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 3, 2010 10:49 AM

    My husband loves Steven Segal movies. lol. I can’t bear to watch one, they are just way too corny. He knows better than to put one in the player when I’m inthe room. haha

    Heather @ http://www.forthehealthofit01.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

