Skip to content

Merry Christmas

December 26, 2009

It’s totally acceptable to say “Merry Christmas” anytime from the day after Thanksgiving to January 2nd.  Says me.

Matt, BIL Joe and I stayed up late Christmas Eve chatting, so we were not up early on Christmas morning.  The plan was to go over to Charlie and Amanda’s house to eat lunch and hang around for the day, but being on vacation, we were all moving very slowly and didn’t make it over there till after 1.

Amanda and Charlie had set out several munchies, so we snacked all day long.  Fine by me.  🙂

IMG_0755

Amanda picked up some Almond Nut Thins for me and made sure all of the cheese was GF.  I don’t remember the exact types or brands of the cheese but there were 2 kinds:  a french smoked cheese which was mild and creamy, and a white cheese with dill and roasted red pepper bits.  Both were delicious and worked well with the nut crackers.

IMG_0753

Charlie made his famous salsa – it’s fabulous.  I ate it with more almond crackers and carrots and celery. 

After digesting a bit, Amanda and I went for a chilly walk in the park.

IMG_0760

No snow in Greenville, but it was overcast and had rained overnight.

IMG_0763

Christmas bird??!?

We came back to my MIL’s house for leftovers for dinner and to watch Julie and Julia (which was cute).

IMG_0770

IMG_0773

  • leftover Potatoes Au Gratin
  • leftover collards
  • smoked chicken (not leftover but delicious)

My mondo-size portion of potatoes kept me full for quite a while.

But not forever.  I got hungry during The Hangover and made another snack plate.

IMG_0791

(Since it’s technically on two plates, does that mean I made two snack plates?)

IMG_0798

More cheese + crackers.

IMG_0795

Brussels, carrots, and guac. 

I also had some Ghiradelli chocolate chips as a palate cleanser.  😉

And one of these babies during the movie:

IMG_0785

Beer substitute.

Hope you all had a nice Christmas Day!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2009 6:08 PM

    That’s so funny, we watched those exact same movies the other night 🙂 Love the cheese plate, that’s the stuff dreams are made of!

  2. December 26, 2009 7:15 PM

    Isn’t it so awesome to not have to work and to be able to just enjoy? Fabulous! Mmmm homemade salsa? Sounds so good right now. Hope you have a good rest of the weekend

  3. December 28, 2009 8:50 AM

    I haven eaten more than my share of rice crackers with dips over the holidays!

    Love that Christmas bird… how festive of him to appear…

Leave a Reply

