Skip to content

Breakfast for Dinner

December 29, 2009

Sorry for the massive delay, friends.

I have two good reasons for leaving you hanging.

  1. Travel.  Don’t do it during the holidays or if you look like someone suspicious, which I apparently do.  No matter what I do or don’t do, I always get the special treatment at the airport, which means I get a thorough pat-down and often have my stuff looked at under a microscope.
  2. I was in the ER last night.  Actually, that was my second time in the ER in the last 2 weeks.  Both times for the same thing, which is not Celiac-related, and which should have been treated the first time I was there.  I’m OK, but my experience at that hospital was unforgettable… both times.  Awful, awful hospital.  If you live in Dallas, don’t ever go to Baylor at Carrollton.  If you have accidentally cut off your arm, drive to another hospital.

And I left most of my pictures on my work laptop, which is (fittingly) at work.  So here we go.

Saturday

The ladies left the boys at home and did a little after-Christmas shopping.  We stopped at Ann Taylor Loft and I found a pretty plum v-neck sweater for about $20 (deal!).  We also did quite a bit of food shopping – EarthFare and Publix – and I have decided that my ideal house would be located less than 2 miles from an EarthFare.  Amazing store.

We had a light soup & salad dinner to counteract the crazy-rich potatoes and other foods we’d been eating the last few days. 

IMG_0820

IMG_0819

IMG_0828

Salad

  • greens from Pat’s garden
  • tomatoes
  • cukes
  • zucchini
  • onion
  • freshly shredded cheddar
  • balsamic + olive oil

Soup

  • chicken broth
  • grilled chicken
  • tons of zucchini
  • carrot
  • onion
  • herbs from Pat & Amanda’s gardens

Simple but satisfying and a nice change from the cheesy, oily goodness we’d been eating.

I snoozed on the couch while everyone else played games – mostly Apples to Apples, which is a fun game that I won earlier in the week.

Sunday

We slept in late on Sunday because Wiggles the cat decided it would be a great night to be a little devil and woke us up several times by playing with the blinds in the room or meowing in the hall.

For breakfast, we made Eggs Benedict.   Twice in one year?  My arteries are crying.  Sadly, my camera ate the one picture I managed to snap.  😦

One of the cool things I found at EarthFare was Kombucha!

IMG_0836

(Partially empty because I’d poured myself a glass and some samples for Pat and Amanda)

I expected to absolutely hate it.  Most people that drink it seem to do so simply because its good for you.  Pat and Amanda hated it.  But I absolutely loved it.  I thought it was fabulous and I wish it wasn’t so expensive or I’d drink one every day.

I drank this guy on the way to the airport.  When we got to the airport, we were told that our reservations had been cancelled during the whole flight snafu the prior week.  Before Matt’s head blew off completely, the lady told us that she could fix it and she did.  But to add insult to injury, the plane was delayed by half an hour.

So we had dinner at a Chili’s Too in the airport.  Nothing exciting there except that they have a gluten-free list that is semi-reliable.

I had the chicken caesar salad.

IMG_0843

I’m not feeling great and I think it was this guy.  😦

But it was tasty for a chain restaurant in an airport.

I had a couple Laras as a snack/late dinner and we passed out as soon as we got home.

Monday

No pics and the food was not exciting.  I wasn’t feeling well, so I didn’t eat much and I certainly didn’t feel like taking pictures of it.  Sorry.  😦

And, today.

Dinner tonight was unconventional… really more of Breakfast for Dinner.  That was always one of my favorite meals as a kid, which is funny given that it was Mom’s easy way out dinner.  🙂

Breakfast for Dinner as a kid was usually eggs, pancakes or waffles, bacon, and OJ.

Breakfast for Dinner now was a new favorite juice – blueberry-lemon green juice – and oats.

IMG_0852

I juiced:

  • 1/2 head of romaine that was mysteriously still semi-fresh after a week and a half in the fridge
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 2 carrots
  • 1/2 lemon
  • teeny Sonja apple

Then I threw the juice in the blender with:

  • huuuuuge handful of baby spinach
  • maybe a half cup of frozen blueberries
  • stevia

Super good. 

Then for oats, I had a very boring but super cozy bowl.

I threw the following in the microwave

  • 1/4 c. oats
  • 1/4 c. oatbran
  • 1-1/4 c. water

Then stirred in

  • 1/2 c. cottage cheese
  • cinnamon!
  • stevia
  • too much vanilla extract
  • maple syrup

IMG_0858 

It’s snowing in Dallas tonight (sleet/snow) and oats sounded super cozy.  Chai tea also sounds super cozy – I think I will make myself a mug to sip while we veg on the couch. 

Nite!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2009 12:19 AM

    I am so sorry to hear about your horrible trip to the hospital, but I hope that you are feeling better now and are able to enjoy the new year in full health!!

  2. December 30, 2009 3:25 AM

    Oh hun – sorry to hear you have had a less than perfect past few days! =(

  3. December 30, 2009 9:01 AM

    Brinner totally rocks. We have it almost once a week. Savory oats, eggs, or pancakes- yum! Hope you’re feeling better. Trips to the hospital are never fun. We have an earthfare but I’ve never been! I will put it on my to try list

  4. December 30, 2009 10:47 AM

    holy yum to all of that! so glad you’re back in action 🙂

  5. Mama Kay permalink
    December 30, 2009 5:24 PM

    I so enjoy your blog and comments. Reminds me of my daughter.

  6. Matt permalink
    December 30, 2009 5:36 PM

    Uh-oh. Looks like someone picked up the crazy adjective while being in South Car 🙂

  7. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 3, 2010 10:51 AM

    Mmmmm…Kombucha.

Leave a Reply

