Skip to content

Resolutions

December 30, 2009

I had a really cool (for me) day of food today, but sadly, my camera battery died and the charger is in my briefcase… at work.  So, that’ll have to wait til tomorrow.

Instead, lets do resolutions.  Given that tomorrow is New Year’s Eve, that’s kind of fitting, right?

I’m not generally a big fan of resolutions around the beginning of the year.  Most people that hit the gym on a (semi) regular basis hate the gym at the beginning of the year because it’s full of Resolutioners: people full of purpose and determination for about a month.  I also hate all the commercials and products aimed at people that begin making huge changes on January 1st, still both food and alcohol hungover from the night before.

Mainly, it’s that I don’t like the meaning behind waiting til the beginning of the year to make necessary changes.  If you realize something needs to be changed, why wait?  I started the gluten-free diet  on a Wednesday and try never to wait til Monday to start anything.

With that said, I had a lot of time over the last week while on vacation to think about things I need to improve upon.  Since I’m currently writing reviews for my employees (yes, still writing them – they’re due tomorrow), I’ve been critiquing their performance and consequently, started thinking about my own.  And I think that maybe I shouldn’t be so hard on someone just because they decide to start fresh at the beginning because after all, every day is the beginning of something.

So, these are the things I started today.

  • Feeding my body, not my mouth or (growling) stomach. 
    • There is a time and a place for eating because it tastes good or because the occasion calls for it (the holidays being one of them), but instead of mindlessly eating cheese sticks and Larabars for dinner when I’m starving because they taste good and I don’t feel like making something more substantial, I’m aiming to give my body what it needs the majority of the time, not just what is convenient. 
  • But, allowing myself to splurge occasionally without guilt.
    • Nothing wrong with eating brownies or cookies occasionally.  I eat well almost all of the time, so it’s not going to hurt me at all to eat something amazing when I want to.
  • Organizing my home life like I organize myself at work (oh, and doing a little bit better at that, too)
    • I would never forget an important meeting at work because I write everything down and put reminders in my blackberry, but a dentist appointment?  Yeah, I let those fly by and hope that they will call me to confirm.  I am a list person and I need to make lists for personal stuff, too – because it clearly works.
  • Not sweating the small stuff.
    • I have a tendency to work myself up over the tiniest things.  An email that comes across my BB at night when I’m not working can prompt me to pull out my laptop and log on just to prove myself right.  I need to learn that shit happens and the world is not going to fall apart if one of my people sends an email to the wrong person.
  • Doing more cooking and baking
    • I don’t love cooking like some people do, but the reason I don’t cook (and by cook, I mean something more than throwing together an omelet and vegetables for dinner) is because of time, not because I hate cooking.  But it takes me longer than I think it does to throw something together and I would probably be a lot more satisfied with the end result if I made a conscious effort rather than eating snacks that aren’t related to each other and calling it dinner.

So there you go.  This is not to say that I won’t still eat cheese sticks or miss appointments or whip out my laptop to answer an email at 11 PM, but it’s a start.

What do you resolve to do better?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2009 9:50 PM

    I totally think that your goals for the new year are very understanble and attainable!! I hope that you have a good New Years Eve and get those reviews done!! 🙂

  2. December 30, 2009 10:35 PM

    Great goals! I’m resolving to love myself better by feeding myself better food and doing a better job of both working out hard, but taking the time to stretch afterwards too. Can’t wait to read more about your resolutions coming to life 🙂

  3. December 31, 2009 5:27 AM

    I am not big into resolutions so I am just vowing to myself to continue to honor myself and just be where I am. To live in the present moment and take each day one day at a time. And stop living in my head so much.

Leave a Reply

