Skip to content

Just another day

January 1, 2010

January 1st never feels any different than December 31st.  Just another day.  But I hate the beginning of January since it signals an end to the holidays.  It doesn’t help that our annual financial audit begins in February, so January is incredibly busy.

We had a low-key New Years Eve, which was fine by me.  I spent yesterday morning with the auditor that was assigned to the Dallas warehouse to spot-check the physical inventory counts.  She just graduated from OU and happened to be in Dallas over the holidays, so our audit firm assigned her to do the counts.  It’s a strange feeling for me to be working with someone younger than me since I’ve always been the youngest person in regards to any of the firms we work with.  It took us about 2-1/2 hours to verify the counts and then I finished up a little work at the office and headed towards home at 1:30.  I had to mail a package to Japan and waited in line at the post office for a good 30 minutes before paying an arm and a leg to get the package safely to my Secret Santa recipient.  I hope she likes it. 

We don’t have NYE off of work, but Oklahoma was playing Stanford, so I sat with my laptop in front of the TV.  OU historically chokes in bowl games and we’ve had a couple major disadvantages this year, but we managed to pull out a win!

I had an orange with a good helping of almond butter before I left the office.  Sounds strange, but surprisingly really delicious.  I think I got the idea from seeing Meghann eat one.

IMG_0867

As if I needed additional nut butter, I had a PB&J english muffin while watching the game.

IMG_0877

Plus a spinach, ice, stevia, and soymilk smoothie.

IMG_0871

This was a bad idea since I was already pretty cold (we keep our house at roughly the temperature of a walk-in freezer in both summer and winter since the husband is a human space heater).  But it was quite good.  I warmed up with a couple cups of ginger chai tea – not exactly typical football watching beverages, but you do what you have to.

After the game, and after I finished writing most of the annual reviews, Matt and I played Super Mario Wii for a couple hours and then broke for dinner.

He made Ramen because he has a nasty cold (that I’m currently hoping that by some miracle I do not catch) and I dug around in the freezer for something exciting.

Exciting it was. 

IMG_0884

IMG_0886

IMG_0890

This was a Southwest Sunshine Burger, with guacamole that claimed to be best by December 10th but I ate it anyway and hoped I didn’t die (for the record, it smelled, looked, and tasted fine), spinach, and a slice of pepperjack.  Delicious.

On the side, roughly a pound of roasted carrot fries, sprinkled with fajita seasoning, plus ketchup, the condiment that goes with everything.

I’m not sure I’m a huge fan of the carrot fries.  They weren’t bad, but I think I prefer eating carrots raw.  Nice for a change, though.

I had some cherries for dessert.

IMG_0880

And then we watched Star Trek (great movie) and I drank wine and ate a few squares of Ghiradelli Midnight Reverie.  I actually contemplated going to bed before midnight – I was exhausted – but decided that since I could sleep in this morning, I might as well.

So, a quiet and not all that exciting New Years, but it was nice to sit at home with the husband in my PJs and fuzzy socks.  🙂

Hope you had a great NYE!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2010 3:48 PM

    It sounds like quite a few people just stayed at home this year for New Years Eve!! I can say that I was ONE of them!! My family stayed home last night and watched our favorite show… Criminal Minds and then today we had a nice sit down lunch!! It has been a nice relaxing day thus far!! I hope that one day I will be able to meet you, because it sounds like the job you do is something I would love to do one day… I love stress and a need for a lot of organization!!

  2. janeterin permalink
    January 1, 2010 4:34 PM

    Happy New Year!! (I drank too much champagne and am not getting up today!)

  3. January 2, 2010 2:43 AM

    OMG – I have to keep the house warm because I would freeze! It’s at 72-73 all winter long. I can totally tell if someone has changed it too. =)

Leave a Reply

