Skip to content

Daredevil

January 2, 2010

Hola.  After I left you last, I had some green juice:

IMG_0902

Simplicity:

  • 1/2 head romaine
  • 1/2 lemon
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • stevia

And ran what felt like a million errands, but was only 3.  (Funny how that works.)  I hit up:

  • Whole Foods, where money practically flew out of my wallet as I walked through the store.  I restocked my Amy’s supply with more Indian and mac n cheese meals.
  • Ulta, where I was dismayed to find that they don’t sell empty/travel perfume bottles (seriously? If not them, who?), but did find my newest perfume.
  • Walmart, which was pure hell, as all trips to Walmart are, and I spent $160 almost purely on produce.  Whoever says eating healthy can be done on the cheap must be living on frozen and canned vegetables.

I ate a Coconut Cream Pie Larabar (my favorite flavor) in the WF parking lot because hunger hit me like a Mack Truck.  No wonder babies scream when they’re hungry – you can go from decently content to ready to gnaw your arm off in 0.3 seconds.

When I got home, I was happy to see that Florida State won their bowl game, which was a beautiful send-off for Bobby Bowden.  The husband is a super huge major FSU fan and it has rubbed off on me as well. 

I was hungry again (green juice and a Larabar for breakfast will do that to you) and decided to do what I’ve been contemplating doing for about a year now:  try Amazing Grass Chocolate.

Why is this scary?  Check out the ingredients.

ChocGSF_Nut_Bkdwn

[ Source ]

The company has claimed this product is wheat- and gluten-free for a long time but I have been dubious about voluntarily putting anything in my body that starts with the words “wheat” or “barley”.   Technically, the wheatgrass does not contain gluten, but my body doesn’t care what something “technically” means when it comes to gluten. 

But, I’m a sucker for things that claim to be good for you and the stats on this product are, well, amazing.  I like that it isn’t highly caloric and I like that it doesn’t have any other ingredients, such as xanthan gum or sugar. 

I bought a single serving packet and blended it with:

  • 1 c. soymilk
  • ice
  • 1 tsp. cocoa powder
  • 1-1/2 tsp. agave nectar
  • 1 scoop protein powder

IMG_0908

It was quite tasty – a teeny bit of a powdery texture, but not bad.  I would probably add more cocoa powder or maybe a chocolate protein powder next time as it wasn’t all that chocolatey. 

And then I sat and waited to start feeling sick.

Nearly 30 hours later, and I still feel fine.  A reaction could hit me later – occasionally it’ll take 48 hours after ingestion before symptoms start – but feeling good right now means that I’m 99% sure it was definitely gluten-free.

I’m not sure I’m ready to buy the big mondo-size tub yet, but I’ll definitely try another packet if continue to feel fine over the next couple days.

I also stocked up on Kombucha at Whole Foods.  I figure if I can ration these enough to make it worth keeping around.  They sort of taste like a flavored diet gingerale to me.

IMG_0905

(I can’t really taste a difference between the cranberry one I tried last week and the grape one – neither had strong fruit flavors)

I had half.

After I put the rest of the groceries away (it was a massive trip, so I took a food break after I put up the cold stuff), I made banana bread for Matt.  The recipe needs a little tweaking since I’m experimenting with baking without xanthan or guar gums, but it was pretty good.  I think I’ll try another loaf tomorrow.

I had a big slice, you know, just to taste test.

IMG_0910

(I clearly have no patience for waiting for something to cool despite knowing that GF baked goods can never be sliced and eaten right away without falling apart.)

We had a bunch of leftover orange pulp from the OJ I made Matt that morning.  (He has a cold and I wanted another excuse to use the juicer.)  So, he did a little googleing and found a recipe for an Asian-inspired Orange Chicken and we set to work.

What better to go with Asian food than brussels sprouts?

(Apparently, I think brussels sprouts go with anything – I’ve eaten them probably 7 times over the last 3 weeks.)

IMG_0911

IMG_0916

The chicken was not very good.  It was pretty much the same deal as the Tandoori Chicken we made a year or so ago:  started out fine, but as you took each additional bite it went from decent to not good to really awful.  We abandoned the chicken after a bit and ate the brussels sprouts plus another slice of banana bread each.

We watched Star Trek IV, which was so 80’s, and I had dessert.

IMG_0924

This is my newest favorite chocolate bar.  It’s like the Vanderbilt version of a Hershey’s bar with almonds.  A-mazing.

Saturday

Today, I dragged Matt out for breakfast at a cute little restaurant in Addison, Benedict’s.  They do typical breakfast/brunch food but have demonstrated competency in the past regarding my food issues.  I was craving something breakfast-y but didn’t want to make anything.

IMG_0930

IMG_0934

I had the Frittata Mexicana with a side of fruit.  Basically, it was a frittata with onions, tomatoes, bell peppers, and tons of jalepenos, topped with a sea of salsa, and a little guac and sour cream.

It was supposed to come with cheese, but as many times as I tried to tell the chef that I could have cheese, he seemed to be under the impression that no gluten = no cheese either, and it just wasn’t worth arguing with him.  He was a nice guy and super helpful, so I can’t complain.

The fruit was standard.

IMG_0931

Later, I hit up The Container Store and spent way too much money.  I can’t contain myself in that store.  I love that everything is coordinated. 

For dinner, we made burgers + chips.

IMG_0956

Kale chips with ketchup and a burger on Kinnikinnick sandwich bread.

We also made salsa, which I ate with nut crackers.

IMG_0945

(Looks like I need a manicure!)

I’ve had some chocolate chips and now I’m heading for the wine bottle.  I’m also planning on doing a little crocheting tonight.  Anyone else crochet?  I feel like an old lady, but it’s a blast and fun to give a blanket as a baby gift.  The cats also like when I crochet – they love to sit on my lap and take turns attacking the ball of yarn.

Although, maybe not tonight.

IMG_0960

Hope you had a great Saturday!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2010 7:01 AM

    I did not realize that you juiced. I just bought a juicer because I was reading a lot about the enzymes and how good they are for your health. According to a book I picked up at whole foods, it can really help with my allergies. We will see, I had my first one yesterday that I made with spinach, carrot and apple. It was pleasantly surprising thought I think I need to work my way up to the darker green ones. I bought some cukes and romaine to try today along with beets.

    I have never had problems with the amazing grass products. I have a boatload of stuff they sent me to review for the blog but my computer was on the fritz so it won’t go up until next week. But, I know how you feel, I was super afraid to try them too.

  2. January 3, 2010 9:08 AM

    I love the pictures girl! I’m glad you aren’t having any symptoms just yet 🙂

  3. January 3, 2010 12:29 PM

    In response to your post on my blog, I wanted to let you know that I am an Actuarial Science major and I am loving it thus far, but am considering changing to Accounting if I find that I enjoy my accounting courses!!

  4. Emily permalink
    January 3, 2010 8:38 PM

    Those eggs look ridiculous good, even without cheese! I have been on a jalopeno kick lately, but eggs are probably a better vehicle than nachos!

    http://eatventures.wordpress.com

  5. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 3, 2010 10:58 AM

    Did you get your Amazing Grass at WF??? I’ve been meaning to pick up some, but don’t wanna go all the way to WF if not neccesary. If youlike ginger, you should try the Gingerberry fizz kombucha. Def has a gingery flavor.

    Heather @ http://www.forthehealthofit01.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

