Skip to content

Pizookie Sunday

January 3, 2010

As fired up as I was about organization when I was at The Container Store yesterday, I was so pooped from hours of running errands and trying to fit all the stuff I bought into the car that I did zero organizing yesterday.  So when I woke up this morning, that was one of the first things on my mind.  (The first was “Why won’t Zeus (the cat) shut up?”  He has a habit of sitting in front of our bedroom door and meowing for hours until we get up.)

For several hours this morning, we organized, cleaned, and did general home-owner stuff. 

Confession:  I absolutely hate folding and putting away clothes.  The only way I have found to make sure I don’t throw the clean clothes from the dryer into a laundry basket and leave them there is to ban the use of laundry baskets when doing laundry.  I fold the clothes in the laundry room as I pull them out of the dryer, make small piles of items that go in the same dresser drawer, and make several trips into the bedroom and directly put them away.  Leaving them in the dryer for more than a day isn’t an option because when Matt does laundry, he’s far less likely to be kind to my clothes than I am (they’d probably end up on the floor of the laundry room).   And leaving them folded on top of the dryer would drive me absolutely nuts.  (Don’t ask why leaving them in a basket doesn’t drive me nuts.  I have no clue.)

So this morning, I cleaned the kitchen, did laundry, folded and put it away, cleaned out and put away my suitcase, and cooked 2 new batches of soups so I’ll finally have something complete to eat for lunch again.  Matt cleaned out the pantry and reorganized.  Talking about it doesn’t do it justice – we made major progress (which says a lot, since we’re pretty tidy and neat people).

All of that done and it was only 2:30.  Feels great to do more on a Sunday than sit on the couch all day!  I finished the reviews (yeah, the deadline was Thursday), played Mario on the Wii, uploaded a bunch of pictures to Facebook from the trip, and made dinner.

What’s for dinner?

Pizza and cookies.  After burgers last night.  (At least our burgers were made with super lean ground beef, the pizza is whole grain and reduced/low-fat, and the cookies… well, nothing healthy about the cookies.)

IMG_0973

The pizza was the normal crust (except I subbed gelatin for the guar gum [use 2x as much]) with Muir Glen pizza sauce, part-skim mozzarella, Hormel turkey pepperoni, and tons of baby spinach.

I’m experimenting with baking without (xanthan or guar) gums, as I seem to have slight issues with guar gum now and wouldn’t touch xanthan gum with a ten foot pole.  The gelatin really changed the texture of the crust.  I really liked it – it was chewier – but it was much harder to shape before it was baked.  You win some, you lose some, I guess.

And for dessert?

A Pizzokie!

IMG_0976

(Sorry for the awful picture.  I ate it classy-style, on the couch, in the semi-dark.)

Betty Crocker GF Chocolate Chip Cookie mix with Haagen Dazs Vanilla Bean on top.  So good.

A little bird told me that Desperate Housewives is on tonight!  Off to drink some vino and watch my favorite show. 

Hope your Monday flies by!

Oh, and I almost forgot – special post to come tomorrow based on a cool thing that happened this weekend.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2010 10:22 PM

    That cookie and pizza look amazing… I think that I might need to have pizza sometime this week!! I havent had pizza in forever, but I think that you have inspired me to try it again!! Also, one of my favorite desserts used to be cookie cake… I loved chocolate chip cookies and frosting!! You should try it sometime if you havent already, I am sure that you can make it gluten free, i think!! 🙂

  2. January 3, 2010 10:26 PM

    oh laundry…bain of my existence! we live in a tri-level house with our room being on the top level and the laundry area on the bottom…blah! maybe i’ll try your tip though and hopefully (fingers crossed) it’ll work?!

  3. January 4, 2010 5:02 AM

    Yikes, what is wrong with xanthum gum? I use it in the summer when I make ice cream?

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      January 4, 2010 7:01 AM

      It’s made from corn. My reaction to it was how I found out I had a corn problem.

  4. January 4, 2010 7:05 AM

    That is exactly how I do laundry- I totally find it to be the fastest/easiest way to get it all done and put away. Good job on rocking through your to do list. And the pizza looks yummy. Happy New Year 😉

  5. January 4, 2010 6:56 PM

    I *despise* folding and putting away laundry, too. Uggggggh. The rest of laundry I don’t mind!

    Your Pizookie looks so great. Good idea!

  6. Your Friend permalink
    September 19, 2010 4:11 PM

    Great minds think alike! I am in the process of working on a gluten-free pizoockie recipe right now and was wondering if anyone had created one yet. Looks very yummy! I’m working a chocolate one.

    That pizza looks to die for! Yum! Do you have the recipe on your blog?

    Gluten Free Carla of GlutenFreeRecipeBox.com

Leave a Reply

