Skip to content

Dreaming of food

January 5, 2010

Since I don’t have any food to report, I thought I’d share a recipe that I created when I first went gluten-free, almost 4 years ago.

I’m not big on keeping baked goods around which is why I don’t make these or other muffins with much frequency.  I don’t do moderation well, so these never stay around long when I do make them.

Anyway, these were my attempt to create a healthier muffin and I’m pretty pleased with them.  I need to make them again soon, save myself a couple, and take the rest into the office.

3-A-DAY MUFFINS
  • 1-1/4 c. tapioca starch
  • 1-1/4 c. cornstarch or arrowroot starch
  • 1-1/4 c. white rice flour
  • 3-1/2 t. potato flour
  • 5-1/2 t. guar gum
  • 1/2 c. + 2 T. packed brown sugar
  • 4 t. cinnamon
  • 2 t. baking soda
  • 2 t. baking powder
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 2 c. shredded carrots
  • 2 c. chopped apple
  • 1 large zucchini, shredded
  • 1 c. raisins (optional)
  • 1 c. almond milk (cow’s milk would prob. also work, but I wasn’t doing dairy back then)
  • 1/4 c. canola oil
  • 2 t. vanilla extract
  • 4 large egg whites

  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. Combine dry ingredients (tapioca flour through salt) in a large bowl. Whisk together well. Stir in carrot, apple, zucchini and raisins (if using them).
  3. Combine milk, oil, vanilla and egg whites in blender or food processor and process until smooth. Pour over flour mixture and stir just until moist and blended.
  4. Spoon batter into muffin tins. Bake at 375* for 15 minutes, then turn down heat to 300* and bake for another 25 minutes.

These freeze well and can be defrosted easily in the microwave.

I’m so hungry

I’ve been living off of spiced apple cider, which is just a fancy way of saying I heated apple cider in a pot with a few cinnamon sticks and a tablespoon of whole cloves.  Speaking of, do you know the difference between apple cider and apple juice?  I didn’t.  I had to look it up.  For those of you who are as uneducated about juices as I am, it’s basically unfilitered, unadulterated apple juice and it tastes way better.  I rarely drink fruit juice – I prefer to spend my calories on food rather than drinks (except for wine, of course) – and when I do, I usually drink OJ, but this spiced cider is pretty decent.

And I had to forgo my usual Misto this morning in favor of black coffee.  I can drink my coffee black but I much prefer it with milk or cream and I really missed my Misto this morning.  😦

The worst part is that it doesn’t seem to register with my brain that I will not be eating until tomorrow evening.  As I’m doing something, I think to myself, “I should go grab something to eat after I get finished.” Denial, perhaps?  I hope I can sleep tonight – it has now been 48 hours of no food. 

I guess I should take this time to count my blessings that I normally have plenty of food and that I never have to worry where my next meal is coming from.  There are plenty of people in the world that do not have that luxury.

The fun starts tomorrow

I have to be at the hospital at 6:30 AM (ick!) and should be done around 11 AM.  One of the many benefits to Matt working from home is that he’s generally available to take me places during the work day, so he’s dropping me off and coming back to pick me up. 

Off to drink more apple cider and call it a (regrettably, wine and chocolate chip-free) night.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 9:26 PM

    You will be in my thoughts tomorrow morning during your procedure… I hope that it turns out well and that you will be able to return to normal food afterwards!! I am sure that you will make a GREAT meal as soon as you are done with the trip to the hospital!!

  2. January 5, 2010 9:43 PM

    you are so brave going that long without food…but i can imagine it definitely makes you thankful for what you normally get to have!

    i went to WF and found the Amazing Grass packets…thanks for the tip 🙂

  3. January 6, 2010 4:24 AM

    Best of luck- will be thinking of you. No misto?? Oh the horror! I totally feel for you. The muffins sound great. Love that they’re veggie and raisin filled- yum!

  4. January 6, 2010 6:58 PM

    Thanks for the blogger award! Very cool. 🙂 I should post that on my next post!

    Only GF treats require a gazillion types of flour…

    I hope you’re feeling better. Tummy problems are the worst so I really hope your doctor can figure out what’s wrong. Keep us posted.

Leave a Reply

