Skip to content

Smoky

January 9, 2010

Remember the great fireplace disaster of 2009

We’d finally gotten 99% of the smoky smell out of our house… until last night.

Enter:  The Smoker (we bought him on Amazon but apparently it’s not available right now – I’m sure it can be found somewhere else). 

IMG_1035

If you’ve never used a smoker, you basically throw a tablespoon or two of wood chips (we used mesquite) under the drip tray (which is black, under the metal rack), add items to be smoked (those would be massive chicken breasts), cover with the top and turn the burners on medium to medium high for an hour or so.  It produces fabulously moist and tender meat, with a really great smoky flavor.

That smoky flavor comes from actual smoke, which should have made Matt and I happy in anticipation of the great meal we were going to eat.  Instead, we had visions of all of the jars of coffee grounds and white vinegar we were going to have to strategically place all over the house again.  :/

Thankfully, the smoky smell dissipated pretty quickly and our house doesn’t smell like a campfire again.  Did I ever mention that we had a chimney sweep come out and inspect the fireplace?  Turns out that the damper was installed incorrectly when the house was built and we were the first ever to light a fire in the house.  He pretty much fixed it, but both Matt and I are rather hesitant to try another fire even though it is 16* outside right now (yes, in Dallas – crazy).

We seasoned the chicken with Poultry Magic before smoking and then topped with a grilled pineapple salsa (I’ll post the recipe later).  I wouldn’t necessarily do the Poultry Magic again with the smoker, but it wasn’t bad.  The pineapple salsa was fabulous – sweet and spicy.

IMG_1043

(I had half of one of the monsterous chicken breasts)

Plus grilled asparagus on the side, dressed simply in olive oil, kosher salt and pepper.  I prefer my asparagus charred;  Matt likes his more al-dente, so we had a combo of the two.

IMG_1047

All together now.

IMG_1040

Fabulous meal.  I can’t wait to smoke pork and do a pulled pork BBQ sandwich.  I adore Texas BBQ.

Before dinner, I snacked on the leftover brussels before I hit the treadmill for a short but sweaty run.  I can’t decide if I like them better hot or cold.  Both ways are delicious.

IMG_1033

For dessert, I whipped out the second new appliance we used last night: the ice cream maker.  When we were in SC for Christmas, my MIL offered to let us have her ice cream maker since they didn’t use it any longer (score!).  It arrived a couple days ago.

Unfortunately, we didn’t freeze the canister long enough so the ice cream never really got frozen while it was mixing in the machine.  I threw it in the freezer while we were eating and it was delicious even though it was not quite ice cream.

IMG_1050

Actually, I shouldn’t even be calling this ice cream.  It is simply plain lowfat yogurt with a little splenda.  Nothing else. 

I had visions of recreating the tart frozen yogurts that are popping up everywhere recently.  We had some in SC that was to-die-for – smooth, rich, super creamy.  Basically, it tasted like frozen low-fat yogurt without any additions. 

IMG_0807

I didn’t have any fresh berries nor did mine actually really freeze, but I figured out what the problem was (the canister not being in the freezer long enough) and the fro-yo tasted just like the yogurt we had at Blueberry Frog.

I also had the usual chocolate chips and a good zin while we watched The Matrix.  I fell asleep about 1/4 of the way through (at 8 PM, mind you) and slept intermittently during the whole movie.  I’m such an old fart. 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2010 12:25 PM

    Wow! What a great looking dinner. Now I want to get a smoker- Josh would love the meat produced out of that baby. I can’t wait for you to post the pineapple salsa recipe too! That will be a winner in my house as well. Your blog just rocks 🙂 Hope you’re having a good weekend

  2. January 10, 2010 1:07 AM

    Hello
    Hey I have never tasted pineapple salsa but it seems delicious and yummy.I will wait for its recipe.Its good to know about plain low fat yogurt with a little splenda.Thank you very much for this post.

  3. January 10, 2010 7:18 PM

    we got a smoker right at the end of the summer when everything outdoorsy was on sale…greatest $50 we’ve ever spent! the best is smoked cheese and smoked salmon…i’m convinced i could feast on that for months!

    once again, love the brussel sprouts 🙂

Leave a Reply

