Skip to content

Elementary, my dear Watson

January 10, 2010

Hi there!  Hope you all had a great weekend.

When we grilled steaks a couple nights ago, we made extra to have steak + eggs.  I love the combo – something about the juicy grilled steak and runny eggs is carnivore heaven.  Unfortunately, the yolk in one of my two eggs broke as I was cooking it, so it wasn’t very runny.

Yesterday morning, I had mine with fresh salsa and baby spinach. 

IMG_1053

Eaten on the couch in my PJs.  🙂

We set about reorganizing the kitchen after brunch yesterday and finally found a home for the new smoker and my new enormous crockpot.  I think we own every kitchen gadget imaginable.  What is your favorite kitchen appliance (other than the usuals: fridge, microwave, stove)? 

We’re planning on smoking a pork loin tomorrow and had to dig through the deep freeze to find it, so I took one for the team and pulled out an Amy’s Paneer Tikka for lunch.  Seriously, if we don’t start eating out of our freezer more, we’re going to have problems.  I don’t think we should buy anything that needs to be frozen period until we make some headway.

IMG_1065

Not so pretty (kind of hard to  get out of the cardboard microwavable box), but oh so delicious.  I need to start experimenting with cooking Indian food – I pretty much like anything Indian I’ve tried, so I bet homemade Indian would be even better than frozen or restaurant Indian.  I spot a challenge!

The rest of the afternoon was spent playing Mario and doing a little work.  For dinner I wanted macaroni and cheese with veggies, but didn’t want to eat another frozen meal.

I spotted the blue box of Annie’s Mac n Cheese in the pantry and thought it would be perfect (although in hindsight, going from a frozen meal for lunch to a boxed meal for dinner isn’t stellar) – I’d steam the veggies, make the mac n cheese per the instructions and combine the two for a cheesey, veggieful bowl.

IMG_1073

Annie, you’re kind of a disappointment.

It didn’t turn out so well.  I didn’t think the sauce had any flavor and it was too thin – it didn’t really do much for the veggies at all.  Plus I ended up eating way more pasta than I meant to because I needed more sauce.

IMG_1076

IMG_1079

Amy’s mac and cheese is way better.  I guess I could try this with one of those because I still think the concept works.

After dinner, I ate way too many chocolate chips, drank a glass of wine (not in that order) and fell asleep on the couch again.  I think it has to do with these new blankets my MIL Pat made us for Christmas.  They’re fleece and super cozy and the cats LOVE them, which means that we’re cuddled and cozy with tons of soft blankets and warm, purring cats.  No wonder I keep falling asleep! 

Today

We slept in quite a bit this morning – 10 AM.  In college and shortly thereafter, 10 AM was on the early side of the time I would wake up on weekend mornings.  If I had to be up before 11, I wasn’t a happy camper.  Funny how that changes – I usually like to be up by or around 9 now so that I can get a start on my day.

Coffee was much desired.

IMG_1082

Recently, we started collecting Starbucks mugs from the different cities we travel to.  I believe Matt’s (on the left) was North Carolina (how is that a city, Starbucks?) and mine was San Francisco.  The Starbucks mugs are great – oversized (18 oz) and all the same size with a similar style.  Since we’re ridiculous coffee fanatics, what more useful souvenir could we get?

After getting dressed, we headed out for errands.  I knew we wouldn’t be home until past dinnertime and knew that finding something to eat while out would be like finding a needle in a haystack, so I packed 2 Larabars and a huge apple.

Breakfast on the road was a smoothie and leftover zucchini chips (what a combo).

IMG_1086

I realized after we left that I forgot the protein powder!

  • 1-1/2 c. soymilk
  • 1/3 c. lowfat plain yogurt
  • 3 c. spinach
  • 3/4 c. frozen blueberries
  • stevia

Simple and delicious.

IMG_1084

These babies needed ketchup like a fish needs water.

First stop was the Dallas Farmers Market.

IMG_1091

IMG_1088

One thing I loved before even arriving was the time the market was open – 8AM –6 PM 7 days a week.  While I understand the reasoning, a lot of farmers markets are open for limited hours each week, on limited days, which means I don’t end up going because the times are inconvenient for me.  Having the market here open 7 days a week is really great.

This was our first time (shame on us, we’ve lived here more than a year now!) and I was seriously impressed.

IMG_1092

IMG_1095

IMG_1096

IMG_1097 

The market is divided into 4 sections, but only 2 were really open today: the Local produce (grown in Texas in a 150 mile radius) and Wholesale produce (grown anywhere).  There weren’t a whole lot of vendors open in the Local produce (not a big surprise – it’s freezing here right now) but there were a lot in the Wholesale produce.

We tasted a lot of samples before we bought:  sweet papayas, juicy grapefruits, creamy cantaloupe, crisp pears.  I was impressed with how fresh the produce was, but even more so with the prices.  Everything we bought was cheaper than at a grocery store and many of the items were significantly cheaper.  For example, red bell peppers are running $2.99 EACH at the grocery store right now.  We bought 4 big ones for $2.00 total.

We got a lot of loot for $50.

IMG_1098

  • cantaloupe
  • 2 heads romaine
  • cilantro
  • red grapes
  • 3 papaya
  • 5 huge grapefruit
  • 6 pears
  • 9 apples
  • asparagus
  • 12 tomatillos
  • 6 tomatoes
  • 4 red peppers
  • 4 pomegranates
  • 4 mystery fruits that start with a C that the guy said tasted like a pear
  • 3 zucchini
  • brussels sprouts
  • fresh green beans

We will definitely be going back.  I liked that the produce was super fresh and that I knew where it was coming from.  And the prices can’t be beat.

After the farmers market, we went to the Container Store and Bed Bath and Beyond to grab a couple things, then went with my parents and family friend Jerry to a new tavern-style movie theater to see Sherlock Holmes.

The theater, Colleyville Cinema Grill, was pretty neat.  The chairs were more like super comfy office chairs that you could lean back in and were set up in front of a counter so you could eat a meal while watching the movie.  Matt, my parents, and Jerry ordered dinner and said it was OK.  I had both of my Laras and a huge apple during the movie.

As for the movie, it was OK.  I thought it was entertaining and I liked it, but I don’t know how true to Sherlock Holmes it was.  As much as I like mysteries and thrillers, I’ve never read any of the books (I’ll be changing that soon!).  However, Matt was disappointed in the movie and he’s a Sherlock Holmes fan.

After the movie, we headed home and put away all of the produce. Our fridge is now bursting (along with the freezer) and we’re going to have to seriously focus on eating produce all next week (shouldn’t be too hard to do!).

Dinner was leftover smoked chicken, shredded and topped with a BBQ sauce I made yesterday (will post the recipe tomorrow – it was fabulous!) on Kinnikinnick sandwich bread with a slice of colby jack cheese.

IMG_1115 

Plus a caprese-type salad of sorts (1-1/2 part-skim mozarella cheese sticks, a chopped tomato, tons of chopped romaine, s+p, good olive oil, and balsamic vinegar).

IMG_1106

And dessert is a farmers market pear.

IMG_1110

Wine, chocolate chips, and Desperate Housewives await me.  Hope you all have a painless Monday!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2010 12:06 AM

    what a great shopping list! we need produce pretty darn badly…i might steal your list of stuff you got 🙂

  2. January 11, 2010 6:49 AM

    The Dallas farmers market looks awesome! I’m so jealous- I wish we had a year round market. Josh and I are actually LOVING rice mac n cheese better than the regular kind these days. Glad you got some good eats and sleep in! Well deserved after your busy week!

  3. January 11, 2010 9:45 AM

    I much prefer to make Annies Mac N Cheese creations with tomato sauces to add some “umph” to the sauciness.

    Wow, I am so jealous of your farmers market finds!

  4. January 11, 2010 5:30 PM

    I love buying produce from a local farmer’s market – yours looks so good – and it’s always so reasonably priced!

  5. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 3, 2010 11:04 AM

    I’ve always wanted to go to the Dallas Farmer’s Market! Now I must go! It looks wonderful! Ilove Farmer’s Markets.

    Heather @ http://www.forthehealthofit01.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

