Skip to content

Chocolate Chip Monday

January 11, 2010

Typical Monday here – a lot of email and phone calls about stuff that should have been done last week.  Actually, it wasn’t all that bad – I got a few things done and had a meeting with Big Boss that wasn’t awful.  But there are still 4 days until Friday again.  😦

This morning at Starbucks, my favorite barista pulled me aside, ran into the back, and came out with a package of GF chocolate chip cookies from a company called Lucy’s.  Starting tomorrow, Starbucks will be carrying the line of cookies in all of their stores.

IMG_1119

(Apparently he gave me the sample pack that was sent to the store to taste test because there was only one small cookie left!)

I haven’t tried them because they have Xanthan Gum, but Matt plans on eating it for dessert.  Nice to know that Starbucks is reaching out to the GF Community again!

After work, I hit up the gym which is still pretty packed from all of the New Years Resolutioners.  I’m trying not to get a bad attitude about it – I should be happy that people are trying to be healthy – but I really hate having to wait for a bench or work in sets with someone.  I give it til mid February before it is pretty empty again.  I lifted full body and did 25 minutes on the stair climber before calling it a day.

Dinner

Tonight, we smoked a pork loin in homemade barbecue sauce.   Unfortunately, we had the meat thermometer in probably the only “cold” part of the piece of meat and ended up leaving it in too long (it was taking forever to reach 160*).  It was good, but would have been better if we hadn’t overcooked it a little.

I ate mine on a salad:  romaine, cabbage mix (red & green cabbage, carrots), red pepper, and carrots.

IMG_1126

I love BBQ sauce, but I’ve been sadly without it since I went corn-free.  Until recently, I hadn’t found a single bottled BBQ sauce that was both corn and gluten-free.  I’ve never tried it, but I recently saw that Organicville has one that looks to be safe.

IMG_1127

I made a batch of sauce on Saturday and it has been chilling in the fridge since.  Really good stuff. 

My chocolate chips last night were quite a disappointment – the new bag was super stale (didn’t know chocolate chips could get stale) – so I bought a new bag at the grocery store tonight and plan on starting on them shortly.  It’s late and I probably only have another hour or so before my eyelids start to droop. 

Happy almost Tuesday!

P.S. I finally posted the Pineapple Salsa from Friday – good stuff.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2010 10:06 PM

    i’m totally making that sauce recipe for our small group tomorrow night! making stuff on the grill and celebrating it being 60 degrees 🙂

  2. January 11, 2010 10:17 PM

    Are you allergic to xantham gum aswell?? I am just wondering because you said that you cant have the cookie!!

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      January 12, 2010 9:38 PM

      Yep, sadly Xanthan Gum doesn’t agree with me. It’s usually grown on corn and I have a stronger reaction to it than to corn itself.

  3. January 12, 2010 4:15 AM

    Gotta love that you get VIP treatment at Starbucks! Misto celebrity! Thats great that they’re adding some GF options. Bummer that the meat got a little overdone but what a great dinner for a Monday!! Hope you enjoyed your choco chips

  4. January 12, 2010 8:04 AM

    I have seen those cookies in my local health food store but have never tried them. I can’t wait to see them in SBux!

Leave a Reply

