Skip to content

Pimpin’ the Minivan

January 14, 2010

Sorry for disappearing last night.  It was a looooooong day with 6-1/2 hours of driving.  Did I mention that the only car available to rent was a minivan? 

I wish we’d taken pictures. 

We arrived in style and the meeting went well.  So well, in fact, that our clients treated us to lunch at the finest restaurant in Shreveport:  El Chico’s.

I usually have a very selfish attitude when it comes to eating out.  I don’t eat somewhere I don’t feel comfortable and generally don’t have a problem explaining it to the people I’m with.

But I really didn’t feel it would have been appropriate to not eat anything if we went to lunch since this was the first time I’d met them and the whole reason we were there was to smooth things over and make nice.  So I decided I’d eat something even if it was just a side salad.

One trick I use at restaurants that I feel iffy about eating at is to avoid ordering anything grilled.  You never know what they put on that grill or what marinade they put on the chicken breast they told you was marinade-free. 

The best thing I could find on the menu was the fajita salad, so I ordered it minus the chicken, plus extra guacamole.  It basically ended up being a huge bowl of lettuce, cheese, tomatoes, and guac.  For Mexican food at a chain restaurant in northern LA, it was pretty good.  I kept my fingers crossed as I ate it, but  thus far have managed to escape unscathed.

When we got home last night, I crashed hard.  Why is sitting in a car for hours at a time so tiring?

***

After work today, I went to the gym which seems to be slowly thinning out of new people. 

When I got home, I immediately made myself a Chocolate Green Monster:

  • 2 c. Unsweetened Chocolate Almond Milk (Almond Breeze)
  • protein powder (GNC)
  • huuuuuge handful baby spinach

IMG_1139

That held me over while I showered and started on dinner.

Dinner tonight was all about leftovers. 

And clearly, all about matching, super nice dishware.

IMG_1154

Coleslaw of sorts, leftover Annie’s mac and cheese from Saturday, and a very boring and unexciting pulled pork sandwich on Kinnikinnick sandwich bread.

IMG_1146

The “coleslaw” was:

  • 4 cups red & green cabbage and carrots
  • 1/2 a red bell pepper
  • 1/2 a zucchini
  • dressing: apple cider vinegar, olive oil, 1 tsp. dijon mustard, agave nectar

Pretty good for a random mix.

Plus leftover mac n cheese that was slightly better the second time.

IMG_1152

And pulled pork mixed with my BBQ sauce.  This sandwich would have been better if there was something else to it – pickles, maybe?

IMG_1150

***

Tomorrow we’re going to dinner with my parents and some of their friends at PF Changs.  I’ve only had a few of their GF menu items.  Have you all tried anything particularly good?  I will most definitely be having some of the Chocolate Dome for dessert.  🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2010 9:44 PM

    haha- glad you rocked the minivan. I always tell Josh that I am NEVER getting one of those…I hope to stick to that. Your gym is already thinning out? How crazy. That coleslaw looks delicious.

    I’ve never been to PF Changs. Have fun and hope you get something yummy

  2. January 14, 2010 9:55 PM

    i read your entire post and all i can think about is that leftover mac and cheese…is that bad? 🙂

  3. January 14, 2010 11:04 PM

    I prefer spicy oriental food or some of the more offbeat options PF Chang’s offers. And none of that is really on the gluten free menu. Their one spicy dish, “Chang’s Spicy Chicken” is pretty good, but not something I want every time. My wife loves the scallops (and she’s not even gluten free), but they don’t have any particular appeal to me. I do like the Singapore Street Noodles, though I add plenty of chili oil and/or sauce to them. I’ve had the lettuce wraps once and they were pretty good. Oh, and for a side I love the cucumbers, mostly because I like cucumbers. They’re simple, but the sauce is good. So I would recommend the street noodles, the spicy chicken, or possibly the scallops. Might have been a day that I wasn’t in a scallop mood when I had them. My wife loves them so much, I’ll probably give them another try.

  4. January 15, 2010 5:36 AM

    I have only been to PF Changs once since going gluten free and I actually was not impressed though the chocolate dome was really good. I do think I will go back though and try something spicier.

Leave a Reply

