Skip to content

Hello Gluttony

January 15, 2010

I’m so, so, so glad it is the weekend.  I’m quite sad, however, that a good portion of this weekend will be spent catching up on work.  Year end crunch time, wish you would go away.

I spent this morning at the hospital. Again.  I’ve spent more time in the hospital in the past month than I have in my entire life.  This time, it was a small bowel series x-ray to finish up all the testing fun I’ve had over the last couple weeks. 

The x-rays were supposed to take 1-1/2 to 2 hours, which would have been longer than I wanted, but not ridiculous.  But like everything else that I’ve been through at that hospital, it was excessive and exhausting.  4-1/2 hours after my appointment, I finally walked out the door.

During the 4-1/2 hours I was at the hospital, they decided that the barium wasn’t moving through me fast enough and that I should get something to eat, so I headed over to the cafeteria because the nurse said they had a pretty extensive salad bar (and because I couldn’t leave the hospital).  Salad bars can be really hit or miss on the raw ingredients but this one was great:  lots of fresh greens and lots of fresh vegetables.  I got a salad with a base of spinach and romaine, plus shredded carrots, tons of chopped red bell peppers (my favorite) and chopped red cabbage.  I topped it with balsamic vinegar.  I also got a fresh fruit cup.  I was seriously impressed with the selection and the quality.  Would it be strange if I stopped by the hospital cafeteria for dinner some time?

I won’t know until my follow up with my gastro on Wednesday what the exact results are, but I’m not expecting anything earth-shattering.  The Radiologist did ask if I had Celiac.  I thought he might have read it on my chart somewhere but it turns out I have a very stereotypical Celiac small intestine with lots of folds.  Um, great.

I made it to the office just after lunchtime and got more done than I expected to in a short time, but I still have a bunch of stuff that needs to be done before Monday morning so I’ll be putting in some serious hours this weekend.  Not fun, but being behind during year end is totally a bad idea.  At least I can get it all done on the couch in my PJs.

After work, we met my parents at PF Chang’s.  My Mom’s birthday is on Monday (she’s 29, again).  We all ate way too much, but it was fabulous.

Matt and I both love the Lettuce Wraps and he doesn’t seem to care about ordering the GF version (I don’t think it tastes any different), so we split an order as an appetizer.

IMG_1158

IMG_1157 

IMG_1159

Egg drop soup for Appetizer Part II.

IMG_1167

I think this might have been the first time I have ever had egg drop soup.  It’s good.

I ordered the Chang’s Spicy Chicken with brown rice.

IMG_1169

IMG_1176

IMG_1182

This stuff is great.  A bit of a bite but not something that will set your mouth on fire. 

My Mom and Matt each ordered the Mongolian Beef (not GF).  They both loved it.

IMG_1173

I think my Dad ordered the Ginger Chicken, but I didn’t get a pic.

I probably could have eaten my entire entree but I wanted to save room for dessert since the flourless Chocolate Dome is one of the best GF desserts I’ve ever had.

IMG_1183

Despite its less than stellar appearance (and sad, out-of-season strawberries), this was a solid dome of deliciousness.  I tried to describe the texture to my Dad – it’s dense like cake but has a fudge-like texture.  The raspberry sauce works really well with the rich chocolate.  And usually, the fresh berries are a nice touch (the not so fresh strawberries were NOT a nice touch).

Mom, Matt, and Dad each got some of those shot glass-sized desserts.  I think they’re a fantastic idea and really wish they would offer GF desserts in the same way.  For the restaurant, they’re a deal because people are likely to order something even if they’re full if it’s super cheap and small.  For diners, it’s nice to have a few bites of something sweet rather than ordering the entire dessert.  (That little factoid didn’t stop me from devouring my entire dessert, though!)

I’m stuffed to the gills and uber sleepy.  This gal is going to turn in early tonight!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2010 11:02 PM

    Oh hun – I am so sorry you were back at the hospital! I image it is so tiring, both mentally and physically. =(
    BUT your eats looked sooo good! I am highly jealous!

  2. January 15, 2010 11:16 PM

    I am sorry to hear about the length of time that you had to spend at the hospital!! I personally understand how much time it takes from your day. I hate that whenever I go to a new doctors, I have to have so many tests done that they have checked my chart for. Well I really hope that you start feeling better and I will keep you in my thoughts!!

  3. January 15, 2010 11:17 PM

    OK that dome looks so killer. And I’d be sol at pf changs because we are not going out for a year!!! 😀 1 year project we are trying out. A real nail biter 🙂

  4. January 16, 2010 6:45 AM

    What a long morning at the hospital! Glad its over with and that you at least had a good lunch while you were there. Happy Birthday to the mom! Looks like a very yummy dinner- especially the dome and the lettuce wraps. Hope you breeze through the work and get lots of rest this weekend

  5. January 16, 2010 7:25 AM

    Hope everything goes well with the doctor visits!

  6. January 16, 2010 11:38 AM

    hospitals = no fun. i’m glad you had a good dinner with your family though! PF Chang’s is one of my FAVORITES! hope saturday treats you well 🙂

  7. January 16, 2010 4:15 PM

    Oh man, I really hope they can figure out what’s wrong. I’m thinking of you!

    That little dome looks delightful (and yes, minus the sad little strawberries).

  8. January 17, 2010 9:31 AM

    Wow…I’ve never been to PF Chang’s but those pics look awesome! I want to go now!

    Thanks for the elimination diet support!

  9. January 18, 2010 12:35 PM

    I’m sorry you had to do all that fun testing. Don’t I know what that’s like?! When I try my new Gastro on Thurs I’m worried I’m going to have to start all over again with tests because it’s been 2 years since my last gastro testing 😦

    I hope that everything turns out however it is you are wanting it to turn out. Hang in there hon! And ps, that coffee collection is seriously hysterical.

Leave a Reply

