Skip to content

Pancakes and Fro-yo

January 17, 2010

Yesterday was an odd day. 

We weren’t feeling quite 100% – Matt is still fighting a cold/virus of sorts and my stomach was feeling a little off – but we were incredibly restless and bored.  That always happens to me when I’m feeling sick but not super sick – I don’t feel well enough to tackle the world, but I want to.

I ended up cleaning out my car, which was ridiculously messy.  I don’t know why my car is always trashed but I have a hard time keeping it clutter-free and have to really make an effort to never leave anything in the backseat.  Once I leave something there, I lose all motivation to remove the rest.

We also cleaned out the inside freezer, where we keep our coffee collection.

IMG_1199

Crazy, right?  We probably have 15 bags of coffee.  We wouldn’t have this problem if Starbucks sold all of their coffees all year long but since you can only buy certain lines at certain times, I buy extra of the ones we love so we don’t run out.  We had even more bags before I took this picture – so many of them had only a serving or two left in them, so I consolidated into a smorgasbord bag and we’ll see how it tastes when we make a pot with it.

For brunch, I made protein pancakes.

IMG_1191

IMG_1192

I didn’t have any fresh blueberries, but thawed frozen worked just as well.

These usually keep me full for a really long time, especially if I put a layer of peanut butter in between the ‘cakes.

After brunch, I hit the treadmill for a quick workout because I knew getting moving would make me feel less yucky.  My shins have been bothering me lately again, so I stuck to walking.  I did Tina’s Pyramid workout twice.  Great workout!

I had a Kombucha

IMG_1197

and a cheese stick for snacks.

IMG_1203

I wish I could say that we did something really exciting for the rest of the day/night, but alas, we really did nothing.  I worked a bit and cleaned up some and made an early dinner.

IMG_1207

Mesquite-smoked turkey breast, a tiny bit of mayo, baby spinach, tomato, and cheddar on Kinnikinnick sandwich bread.  Plus pickles and baby carrots.

IMG_1210

Leftover “coleslaw” from Thursday, which wasn’t all that great after being in the fridge for 2 days.

IMG_1212

And guac, salsa, and Pecan Thins.

Since I ate dinner so early (it was really more like a cross between lunch and dinner), I made fro-yo later on in the evening for dessert.

My last attempt at making frozen yogurt didn’t turn out so well, but I froze the container for nearly a week and the second batch turned out great.

IMG_1215

This is truly frozen yogurt – I just threw a quart of plain, low-fat Stoneyfield yogurt mixed with some Truvia and vanilla into the ice cream maker and let it do its thing.

IMG_1217

Fast forward 30 minutes, throw on some chocolate chips, and you have my newest favorite dessert.  If you can even call it that – it’s plain yogurt with antioxidant-rich chocolate chips.  Practically a health food, right?

After finishing my “ice cream”, we watched a couple TiVo’d shows and I fell asleep early, like the old nearly-25-year-old I am.  😉

Hope you all had a great Saturday!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2010 1:33 PM

    Sorry both of you aren’t feeling that great! Hope today you’re feeling 100% better!! I love your coffee collection! Thats just awesome (you’re my idol :)). Great job on the froyo too. I need to try doing some at home (I just love going out and getting some of the soft serve version out!). Have a good one

  2. January 17, 2010 4:12 PM

    I just ordered a replacement part for my ice cream maker and am looking forward to homemade fro yo!

    Damn, that is a lot of coffee! Hehe.

    Hope you feel better, girl!!

  3. January 17, 2010 4:59 PM

    what a cool idea for fro-yo…i wish i had an ice cream maker just for that! i’ve been debating whether or not i want to try kombucha – i’ve tasted a friend’s before, but i don’t know what flavor it was. what’s your favorite synergy flavor?

  4. Emily permalink
    January 17, 2010 11:07 PM

    Great idea with the froyo, I’m going to have to try that!

    http://eatventures.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

