Skip to content

Lollipop, Lollipop

January 18, 2010

This week was off to a quick start when I woke up in a panic after my alarm had been blaring for a good 30 minutes.  I wish I was one of those people that never hit snooze, but I’m awful at it – thank goodness the husband is a deep sleeper. 

I had to be at the office early for an interview, so it wasn’t really an option for me to be late.  Thus, it was not a straighten my hair type day and more of a ‘hope I remembered to put on mascara’ day.  (I did)

But alas, I made it and glued my butt to my office chair all day.  I’ve been out of the office so much due to all the ridiculous doctors appointments and testing lately (and vacation on top of all of that) that it almost feels strange to be in the office, at my desk, all day long.  It’s a weird feeling.

I don’t have anything fun to report from yesterday – we literally didn’t do anything.  I worked on sales taxes and a year-end analysis all.day.looooong.  Nothing kills a weekend like working. 

I snacked a lot and took the day off from taking pictures (the chicken or the egg question – did I snack because I knew I wasn’t taking pictures or did I not take pictures because I knew I’d snack?) and I ate the rest of the frozen yogurt and a bunch of random stuff:  Pecan Thins, chocolate chips, Kombucha, Amy’s Paneer Tikka, and zucchini bread-style oat bran (oat bran made with water and tons of cinnamon, shredded zucchini, raisins, stevia, and cottage cheese).  I wouldn’t say it was a stellar day of food, but it could very well have been worse.

I’d say that Zeus the cat really missed me today, which is why he jumped into my arms after I changed clothes, but I think he really just missed being 68 inches taller so he could attack the fan chain.

IMG_1227

Yes, my PJs include pajama pants with lollipops on them, don’t yours?

Dinner tonight was a Mexican casserole of sorts, starring fresh Tomatillo Salsa.  Matt loves tomatillos – I usually can take them or leave them.  If you’ve never had a tomatillo before, they’re basically very tart green tomato-like ‘fruits’ (I know that a red tomato is technically a fruit, but I have a hard time thinking of something that isn’t sweet as being a fruit).

IMG_1239

IMG_1242

This was rice, mexican-seasoned baked chicken breast, and Tomatillo Sauce baked for 30 minutes and topped with cheese, Tomatillo Salsa, and fat-free sour cream.

This was really delicious.  I’m not usually a fan of tart flavors but the husband is – his favorite candy is SweetTarts.  This wasn’t too tart though and had a nice flavor.

I’m trying to decide whether I should go to the gym tomorrow or just hope that I get done with my homework – class starts tomorrow!!! – in time.  That’s a bad bet because after a long day of work work, then home work, I’m not going to want to do anything besides collapse onto the couch.  So, we’ll see.  Maybe since I said it here, I’ll be motivated to get up and go.

***

Have any of you seen Worst Cooks In America?  I have such a hard time believing there are people that are that awful at cooking.  I can believe that a lot of people under season their food and are maybe a little unadventurous, but I can’t believe all the people that burn things all the time or don’t know how to chop an onion.  I don’t love cooking like some people do – in fact, the husband does most of the cooking around here – but I can’t imagine not knowing how to cook anything. 

***

I have a date with some vino + chocolate and an early bed time.  Nite!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2010 8:24 PM

    Love the loli pjs- too cute 🙂 I am so with you- I haven’t spent a whole day at my desk in weeks….looks like tomorrow will be more of the same but Wednesday will be a full day of computer loving time. The Mexi casserole looks yummy. I have never tried a Tomatillo. Hope your day goes well tomorrow

  2. January 18, 2010 8:34 PM

    I can most definitaly tell you that people are that horrible at cooking. For example, my brother burns his pasta and burns his cheese when he is making macaroni and cheese. It can be that difficult for some people to cook!!

  3. January 18, 2010 9:15 PM

    Nope! My jammies have reindeer and snowflakes on them and I wear them all year long. Flannel in Alaska is nice anytime 🙂

  4. January 19, 2010 12:24 AM

    i haven’t seen anything other than the previews…i have a hard time believing it too though. dinner looks great though…i love rice-y cheese-y things!

  5. January 19, 2010 1:14 AM

    LOVE the pj’s! =)

  6. Matt permalink
    January 19, 2010 1:18 AM

    A date with some vino + chocolate and an early bed time? I’m jealous! 🙂

  7. January 19, 2010 12:54 PM

    I also have a hard time believing that show. They are really, really bad. Even DH is better than that 😀

Leave a Reply

