Skip to content

Flat as a pancake

January 20, 2010

This morning, I had a follow-up with my gastroenterologist to review the findings on all of the tests we’ve done recently.  While going through the tests (of which nothing scary turned up – yay!), he mentioned that my villi are still flattened.  I’m pretty surprised that after nearly 4 years of being GF, I still haven’t completely healed.  😦

He didn’t seem to think it was a huge deal, though, so I guess I shouldn’t either.  I know that I had some major healing at the beginning because I was super intolerant to all dairy until about 6 months after I first went GF and then one day, I was able to have it and I’ve never had any problems since.  I had assumed the healing would continue and I’m sure it has, to an extent, but I surely didn’t expect to still have flat villi 4 years later.

The rest of today was rather uneventful. 

I got my hair cut & highlighted after work.  Some people really like getting their hair cut, but I don’t.  It’s a huge chunk of time (even though my hair lady is pretty awesomely fast) that eats into the little bit of evening I actually have.  I’m fiercely protective of evening time – I like to preserve as much of it as possible since I don’t ever leave the office on time.

No workout tonight, as I was more than ready for dinner when I got home and dug into the leftover brussels sprouts.

IMG_1260

And made a pumpkin-apple-yogurt thingy while roasting some asparagus.

IMG_1263

Easy:

  • – 1/2 c. plain Dannon yogurt
  • – 1/2 c. plain 2% fage
  • – 1/3 c. pumpkin
  • – pumpkin pie spice, stevia, and cinnamon
  • – apple, chopped

Sadly, the apple wasn’t very crisp and as a result, the mix wasn’t as good as it usually is.  I’m very picky about texture with fruits and veggies – texture is arguably as important as taste.

I also had some asparagus.

IMG_1267

But it wasn’t all that good.  I roasted it with EVOO + salt + pepper.  Maybe it was too old?  We got it from the Farmer’s Market the weekend before last, which doesn’t seem long enough to make a huge difference.  I don’t usually roast asparagus – I usually grill it – so maybe that was the problem?

I also had a small bowl of leftover Tomatillo casserole, which I’m sure you don’t need to see for the 95th time.  🙂

That’s all I’ve got for tonight, folks.  Hope you had a good Humpday – I’m off to catch up on 24 which we’ve been slowly making our way through this week.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2010 10:13 PM

    I am really sorry to hear that the results of your tests werent what you were hoping for, but remember that with more time your intestine will get better and you will feel better!! 😉 I also cannot wait until you show us your freshly done ‘do!! 🙂
    Have a great rest of the week!!

  2. January 20, 2010 10:33 PM

    the best thing about getting your hair done is having someone else shampoo your hair at the end…just that little bit of pampering makes it all worth it to me!

  3. January 21, 2010 2:13 AM

    I am so sorry about the news =(
    Just keep being strong! You are AMAZING!

  4. January 21, 2010 5:19 AM

    Well I’m glad to hear the results were mostly good! I try to make an event out getting my hair done, that way I don’t get irritated that it is taking so much time. I get myself a nice misto, settle in with some good magazines and think of it as relax/recoop time! Sorry the dinner was kind of meh.

  5. January 21, 2010 5:36 AM

    Sorry about your intestinal news. 😦

    As far as getting hair done, I agree 100%. It takes at least two hours which really eats up the evening time. I am also protective of my limited evenings. I have a long commute and if I have anything to do after work it feels like I have to go straight to bed when I get home.

  6. January 21, 2010 12:05 PM

    Stupid villi! I know what you mean though, shocking when you stop and go, wait a minute, it’s still like this?! Geez. Starting the fun at the new Gastro today. I’ll be thinking of you and sending you good thoughts. If nothing else, I’m uber impressed you can eat brussell sprouts. I know they’re so “in” but I just can’t bring myself to do it.

  7. tastyeatsathome permalink
    January 22, 2010 4:03 PM

    Those darn villi! Sorry you’re not as healed as you hoped. Time heals all wounds, I guess, but gee, when it’s a LOT of time, it sucks, huh? I agree on getting hair done. I need my bangs trimmed and I just don’t want to go out of my way in the evening to get it done. So you should post a pic of the haircut though, so we can all compliment you on it!

Leave a Reply

