Skip to content

Accident Prone

January 21, 2010

Do you ever wake up in the morning with a pulled muscle or something similar and wonder how in the world you managed to hurt yourself while you slept?

That happened to me this morning.  I got out of bed and yelped.  (Maybe it was during the get-out-of-bed process – I was so half asleep, it’s a miracle I got both feet on the ground before I stood up… or did I?)  I’m quite accident prone – I constantly have bruises all over my body – so if it could happen to anyone, it definitely could happen to me.

My right Iliotibial band is tight and hurts right above my knee.  I didn’t workout yesterday or really do anything strenuous at all (really, at all), so it couldn’t have been from yesterday.  I did do legs at the gym on Tuesday, but never felt any twinge of pain during the workout.

I’ve had ITBS before and it absolutely blows, so I really hope this is not it and is just a freak pain twinge. 

To be safe, I spent some time this evening rolling on the foam roller.

IMG_1274

(Evil, evil!)

I bet they used that thing during the medieval times as a torture device.  It’s awful.

Zeus loves it, though.  Loves it so much that we have to keep it in the closet or he tries to eat it.

IMG_1278 

I had a pear with a Justin’s peanut butter packet at the office before heading home, which staved off my hunger quite well.  I could eat bowls and bowls of rice and be hungry an hour later but give me some peanut butter or walnuts and I can stay full for hours.  This particular peanut butter packet hails from 2007, which is a little scary.  I know this because it was in the box of office stuff that was shipped down to me from Oklahoma City a month ago when we boxed up my old office up there and I remember when I bought them.  It tasted fine and the expiration date is still a few weeks away, so we’re all good.  😉

So for dinner, I pulled together an old favorite:  fake baked ziti.

IMG_1286

Asparagus, snap peas, carrots, red pepper strips and yellow squash tossed with marinara and swimming in a pile of cheese. 

Plus some lazy garlic bread aka a Kinnikinnick english muffin with garlic powder and a little olive oil butter.

Pretty fabulous if I do say so myself.

Tomorrow after work, I’m heading up to Oklahoma City to stay with my BFF (does anyone over the age of 8 say that anymore?) for the weekend.  I wouldn’t say that I really miss Oklahoma – I don’t – but I really do miss her.  ;) 

She’s turning 25 on Tuesday and is having her annual big blowout party on Saturday.  I’m stopping by my sister’s on the way out of town to see her on Sunday, so it will be a fabulous weekend all around!

What are your weekend plans?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 9:32 PM

    ah! Have so much fun with your bff (yes I still use this phrase too). Sorry to hear about the IT pain! I hope it goes away tomorrow. Great looking “pasta” dish- you know I love me some veggies, marinara and cheese!

  2. January 22, 2010 9:22 AM

    I have to do food shopping, food prep and a purge of my cabinets since going on the ACD. Plus, tomorrow is national yoga day so I am going to a free yoga class with one of my favorite teachers.

    Enjoy your weekend with your BFF!

  3. January 22, 2010 9:47 AM

    we’re skiing vail this weekend for my husband’s birthday! so excited, since i’ve only been to the town but never skied there. we’re headed to dallas the first weekend in february…we should meet up for lunch if there’s a chance!

  4. January 24, 2010 6:45 PM

    Oh no… I hope the pain was just random and not something major. Using the foam roller was probably a good idea.

    I hope you had a blast hanging out with your BFF. I love time spent with my girlfriends!

  5. January 26, 2010 9:44 PM

    As much as I can understand right now, I think you’re right!

Leave a Reply

