Skip to content

Rolling in Oats

January 24, 2010

I hadn’t planned on having much time to post this weekend since I was supposed to be in Oklahoma City visiting my friend Kara, but I got slammed with a last minute this-has-to-be-done-before-Monday-morning project and knew that I would be working on Saturday (if not Sunday, too), so I had to cancel my plans.  You know how good your friends are when they aren’t even the least bit upset that you have to miss their quarter century birthday party.

Anyway, I haven’t done much of anything exciting since I left you last, since work definitely doesn’t count as ‘exciting’.

Saturday morning, I grabbed one of the new GF items at Starbucks to make going into the office on a Saturday somewhat less horrific.

IMG_1294

I thought it was OK.  It had a strange aftertaste and some of the little seeds didn’t stay mushed into the bar and ended up falling onto my desk as I ate it, but I would eat them again and probably will.

IMG_1297

I also had a super juicy pear.

IMG_1299

He looks like he was kicked down a flight of stairs and then run over by a semi, but he was super delicious.  I didn’t use to like pears but I think it was because I was always eating them before they were ripened. 

When I finally got home – super late and kicking myself for not packing more food – I headed straight for the cheese sticks (no pic, sorry) and Nut Thins + guac.

IMG_1304

And then I had an oatmeal cookie craving and whipped out the KitchenAid and got baking.  Nothing like baking cookies late at night – it ensures you won’t eat ALL of them that night and that you’ll maybe be able to make a breakfast out of them the next morning.

After a bit of recipe research, here’s what I came up with:

  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 c. butter (room temperature)
    1/2 c. + 2 T. light brown sugar, packed (use a little more if you like your super sweet)
    1/2 t. vanilla extract
    1/4 c. sorghum flour
  • 1/4 c. superfine brown rice flour
  • 1/4 c. arrowroot starch
  • 1/2 t. baking soda
    1/2 t. ground cinnamon
    1/2 t. salt
    1- 1/2 c. rolled oats
    3/4 c. raisins

Preheat oven to 350*.

Cream egg, butter, brown sugar, and vanilla till smooth.  Add sorghum, brown rice, arrowroot, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; blend till smooth.

Stir in oats and raisins.

Drop by spoonful onto a greased cookie sheet (I use Silpat liners) and bake for 10-14 minutes depending on the size of the cookies.  Let rest on cookie sheet till almost cool, then transfer to wire racks to completely cool. 

(I find that it’s really important to let GF cookies almost cool on the sheet before attempting to move them.)

IMG_1319

***

So, I ate cookies for dinner last night and breakfast today.  Nothing wrong with that.  They could be healthier cookies, but if you replace some of the butter with some applesauce and sub agave or stevia for the brown sugar, they’d be nearly a health food.

Strangely, I was still on an oat kick, so I had oatmeal for lunch, topped with cookie crumbs.

IMG_1322

IMG_1328

This was your standard 1/2 c. oats, soymilk, 1/4 c. cottage  cheese plus stevia, cinnamon and raisins blend, topped with oatmeal cookie crumbs. 

Fabulous.

Dinner tonight was light due to still being full from the mountains of oats I’ve eaten – in cookie form and oatmeal form – today.

We still had some brussels sprouts and green beans from the Farmer’s Market a couple weeks ago and they needed to be eaten before they died on us.  Not that I need a single reason to eat brussels sprouts (sometimes I think I should rename this blog “Watch Elizabeth Eat Brussels Sprouts”).

Before a trip to a 350* oven:

IMG_1332

And after:

IMG_1338

(Yes, I realize I took them out of the oven in the wrong order.)

My plate:

IMG_1348

I’m not sure why the brussels aren’t browning on the bottom (not enough oil, maybe) but they still taste fabulous.  And I love the roasted green beans.

I think I might just love any vegetable roasted.  One reason why I could never voluntarily go 100% raw – I just love roasted veggies too much.

Just finished watching the Saints/Vikings game.  Sad to see Favre not win but happy for Brees (who is a Celiac, by the way) and the Saints going to the Super Bowl! 

What exciting things did you do this weekend?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2010 11:59 PM

    we skied vail this weekend, and it was great! so completely exhausted now though (not that I’m whining thought!)

    I’m excited to see the Saints in the Super Bowl too!

  2. January 25, 2010 7:49 AM

    Sorry you missed your plans this weekend 😦 We didn’t really do much of anything. We went out for a bit on Saturday night but that was it. It was great!

  3. January 25, 2010 8:00 AM

    So sorry you had to work this weekend! Glad you had some delicious treats to keep you company. My pears always look SUPER beat up. I always pull them out and question whether they’re going bad…but they always taste yummy. Great job on the cookies and roasty vegetables. Hope the extra work this weekend means you get a lighter load this week

  4. February 2, 2010 4:38 AM

    Generally I do not post on blogs, but I would like to say that this post really forced me to do so, Excellent post!

  5. February 7, 2010 1:02 AM

    Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya

Leave a Reply

