Skip to content

Just let it be over

January 25, 2010

Oh my.  Today was an awful day and I would not be surprised if tomorrow was equally awful. 

I did get up early – 5 AM – and workout, though, so the day wasn’t a total waste.  I did 45 minutes on the treadmill – combo of walking at a varying incline and running – and it was fabulous.  I even made it to the office before 7 AM.

Sadly, everything went downhill from there.

I had a meeting that didn’t go well.

Then I forgot that today was payday and didn’t process any of my employees time (thankfully, the payroll guy reports to me, so he grabbed all of the timesheets and entered them himself).

Then I went to make myself a protein shake for breakfast/lunch and realized I forgot the protein powder and mini blender at home.

So I drove home really quickly and threw together a protein shake that included a scoop of Chocolate Amazing Grass, which ended up making me nearly immediately sick.  I didn’t have a reaction the first time I had this, but boy, the reaction the second time sure made up for no reaction the first time.  It’s possible that it is something else in it that is causing me to feel like I’ve been struck by a 747 since it vehemently claims to be GF.  Whatever the problem ingredient, I will no longer be considering it safe.  Too bad, since it is so good for me.

I’m home decently early, so I should have taken the time to make a really nice dinner, but I still feel like crap and frozen food was the way to go. 

IMG_1372

Amy’s mac and cheese with peas.

And leftover brussels.

IMG_1360

And leftover green beans.

IMG_1362

Not quite as fabulous as leftover brussels, but not too shabby either.

**

I’m going to flop myself onto the couch after I pour myself a big glass of wine and snuggle with the kitties and the husband.  Very necessary after a day like today.

Early to bed so I can hit the gym tomorrow morning… and so I can officially move on from this day.

How was your Monday?  Hope it was better than mine!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 8:31 PM

    oh girlie! I’m so sorry to hear about your day. I hope that tomorrow is better. Glad you at least got your workout in and some snuggle time 🙂 That always seems to make things better!!

  2. rebecca permalink
    January 25, 2010 9:28 PM

    so sorry about your reaction to the amazing grass, hope you’re starting to feel better and winding down from they day! i will *gladly* take the chocolate amazing grass off your hands if you’re giving it away!

  3. Emily permalink
    January 25, 2010 10:08 PM

    Hope the wine/snuggle time makes your day go better 🙂

    http://eatventures.wordpress.com

  4. January 25, 2010 10:10 PM

    I am so sorry that your day was so difficult and I hope that you feel better tomorrow! I would also not mind taking the Chocolate Amazing Grass off of your hands as I could definitaly do with more protein in my diet!! 🙂
    Have a great night with your hubby!!

  5. January 25, 2010 10:50 PM

    Sorry hun =( Hopefully tomorrow will be a better start!
    Well I came down with the stomach flu last night so I am jealous that you actually were able to eat food today, me not so much. Here’s to BOTH of us having a better day tomorrow!

  6. January 25, 2010 11:37 PM

    yikes, that’s not a great monday! mine was boring…but i guess sometimes that’s more welcome than too busy! hope your tuesday is better 🙂

  7. Matt permalink
    January 26, 2010 6:54 AM

    My Monday was pretty bad too. I got stuck doing a favor for someone after work so I got home really late and starving. I’d intentionally avoided eating the leftover Brussels for lunch so I could enjoy them for dinner. I got home and found out my sneaky wife had stolen them!

  8. janeterin permalink
    January 26, 2010 3:22 PM

    I’m sorry your day stunk! Hopefully today is better!

  9. tastyeatsathome permalink
    January 27, 2010 10:03 AM

    I thought those Amazing Grass things had wheat in them…? Or is wheat grass not gluten-y. And then, how are you sure they don’t sneak a bit of the seed in with the grass during processing, cross-contaminating? I dunno – I’ve had those before going gluten-free, but now I’m leary of them. Sorry you had such a bad day!

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      January 27, 2010 7:35 PM

      They’re supposedly GF and I’ve heard of several Celiacs that drink them without problems, but like you, I’m leary of how they keep the grass away from the seed. Wheat grass is GF, but hell, it has the word wheat in it! Scary stuff!

Leave a Reply

