Skip to content

Christmas in January

January 26, 2010

Thanks for all of the better day wishes!  Today was definitely better than yesterday.

I found out tonight I have my first exam of this class next week… which is just 3 weeks into the semester.  I’m not sure how I feel about that – on one hand, it’s probably a good thing to test more frequently on a smaller range of subjects, but on the other hand, it’s really frustrating to be studying all the time.

When I got home tonight, it was like Christmas arrived on my doorstep.

IMG_1382

Chia seeds, flax seeds, and Maca powder.

Who gets this excited about this type of stuff?  You would have thought a bunch of new clothes arrived as quickly as I tore open the packages.

Truth be told, all three have been hanging out in my Amazon cart for ages now and I finally hit the button and bought them on Saturday.  God Bless Amazon – ordered Saturday night, here today.

Anyone have any cool recipes for chia or flax seeds?  I plan on trying the ever popular chia pudding at some point.  The maca I plan on adding to my protein shakes.

I went back and forth with what to eat for dinner since I got home late.  This is where being able to stop by and pick up something quick or order something in is really missed.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have any leftovers, so after some debating, tuna salad squared it was.

IMG_1374

A bed of romaine, water-packed tuna, cottage cheese, 1 T. mayo, chopped carrot, chopped zucchini, chopped onion, and chopped red pepper.

IMG_1379

I also had a Larabar

IMG_1380

and will probably grab an apple or something else later on – I’m still hungry despite the ginormous salad.

***

So…

I feel awful, but I’m going to have to renege on my offer to give away the Amazing Grass.  Apparently despite the hurling noises, grimaces, and comments such as “This stuff tastes absolutely awful”, the husband actually plans on continuing to drink the Amazing Grass.  I’ve been trying to pump him full of vegetables since I met him and the fact that he’ll choke it down because it is good for him is a pretty big deal.  And since I ate the leftover brussels sprouts that he had apparently called dibs on himself last night, I can’t take away his wheatgrass, too!

Instead, I’m going to think of a fun giveaway that will actually be something to give away.   Novel concept, right?

Sorry for the false alarm.  :(  But stay tuned!

***

Watching the Biggest Loser now and had to share this quote:

“It doesn’t get any better than me at this job.” – Jillian

I know there are a lot of people that don’t like her because of her new line of diet supplements, but I love her. 

And really, does anyone out there actually believe that the red team lady isn’t throwing the weigh-ins? 

No way.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 11:59 PM

    girl, if he’ll eat better that way then keep the amazing grass! at least he’s doing it 🙂 more than i can say for Nate…if he doesn’t like it, it’s not passing his lips!

  2. January 27, 2010 12:43 AM

    I get excited about food all the time! I sometimes spend hours in grocery stores. LOL.
    Cake and Commerce recently had a great GF cracker recipe with flax seeds or Chia seeds. When I made it, I accidentally put too much cayenne pepper, so it was a bit too spicy, but it was so easy to make and tasted wonderful. Here is the link. http://www.cakeandcommerce.com/cake_and_commerce/2010/01/oaty-cheese-crisps-wheatfree-and-eggfree-crackers.html

  3. January 27, 2010 6:20 AM

    Yayyyy! I love when foodie packages arrive. I use flax in all of my granola. I also just saw someone use it (ground) mixed with a few other ingredients as a crust on baked chicken (brilliant!). I ❤ Jillian too! She kicks major butt

  4. tastyeatsathome permalink
    January 27, 2010 10:05 AM

    I’ve used flax seeds, ground and mixed with a bit of water, as an egg substitute in baking and meatloaf. I just finally got chia seeds for the first time, so far all I’ve used them in green smoothies. (about 2 cups spinach, 1/2 c coconut milk, 1/2 c frozen diced pineapple, 2 t chia seeds, mint leaves, plus enough water – throw in blender. Yum!)

  5. January 27, 2010 2:32 PM

    Yeah Jillian’s sometimes crazy, but I actually found myself wanting to never see the Red Team again. I’ve never not rooted for people to lose weight, but her smarminess rubs me the wrong way!

Leave a Reply

