Skip to content

Flaxseed Fail

January 27, 2010

I was tempted to throw my new chia seeds, flax seeds AND maca powder into my protein shake this morning but I restrained myself and just added the flax seeds. 

I figured I’d just throw them in the blender at work (I have one of those single serving blender thingys at the office) with the protein powder and whirl away.

Uh, no.

I thought it worked.  I took my cup back to my desk, sat down, and started drinking the shake, marveling at how finely ground the flaxseeds were and how nice the nutty flavor complemented the chocolate shake…. until I got down to the bottom of the cup and was greeted with an inch thick layer of flax seed-protein powder sludge.

I managed to get most of it out with a spoon, but I wouldn’t say that was the highlight of the drink.  I guess I’ll have to grind them in a coffee grinder or something more high powered than the blender before adding them to the shake?  Clearly they got ground (which was why I tried it this way in the first place), they just never blended into the liquid.

Thanks for the neat ideas for the flax and chia seeds!  I’ll be trying them out.

We’re seriously loooooowwwww on groceries and a salad wasn’t appealing tonight.  I went digging in the deep freeze in hopes something would inspire me  to cook, but found some Amy’s frozen Indian instead and abandoned the search.

This

00253

became this

IMG_1390

IMG_1389

Separate is good.  Mixed together is way better.

I started to cut up an apple to dip in PB&J for dessert and realized it was quite mushy.  I hate mushy apples.  But instead of wasting it, I decided to make an apple crisp minus the crisp type thing and have that instead.

IMG_1385

I threw a chopped apple and 1/4 c. raisins in a bowl with a little water and nuked it for a couple minutes, then tossed with stevia, cinnamon and topped with some plain yogurt and more cinnamon.

Not too shabby for a mushy apple.

Dessert #2 was a cup of Pukka chai tea.  A friend of mine from the Netherlands sent it to me as part of my Christmas gift.  The ingredients check out and their website says all of their teas are GF.

IMG_1394

I’m actually home decently early, so I’m going to spend the rest of the evening not thinking about work (if that’s possible) and hanging out on the couch.

Happy almost Thursday! 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2010 8:50 PM

    I love Amy’s Indian Meals but I have yet to buy and try that flavor. After seeing that you enjoyed it, I’ll have to give it a go!!

    Sorry to hear about the flax fail – I hate it when ingredients get stuck to the bottom of the cup- protein powder is bad about that!

  2. January 27, 2010 9:08 PM

    i keep meaning to try Amy’s indian dinners, but I’ve never been a huge Indian food fan and get a little scared! i’ll have to try that combo first though 🙂

  3. mangalmachines3 permalink
    January 27, 2010 9:44 PM

    Your blog is very good to see it got some amazing stuff in this blog

  4. January 27, 2010 10:02 PM

    Yay to almost Thursday! we should make it something official!

  5. January 27, 2010 10:03 PM

    Mmm, that tea sounds really good. I’ve tried that Amy’s meal before. It’s great, but I wish the portion was larger! Or does that defeat the point of a well-portioned microwave meal? Hee.

  6. January 28, 2010 5:14 AM

    Yummy clumpy protein and flax sounds delicious 😉 I would def ground the flax seeds first. Then add the rest of the ingredients in. Let us know how the next round goes 🙂

  7. January 29, 2010 3:21 PM

    Yeah you need to really grind the flax first. Its quite tricky in seed form.

Leave a Reply

