Skip to content

Seed, cubed

January 29, 2010

Seeds I have consumed today:

  1. Flax along with protein powder, maca, acacia, cocoa powder and stevia in my protein shake.
  2. Chia with applesauce, pumpkin, plain yogurt, and stevia.
  3. Pomegranate in the only way pomegranates should be eaten:  plain.

***

Yesterday, we had a neighborhood association meeting at a cute little Cajun joint around the corner.  Matt eats there quite often but since apparently the thing they do best is a fried shrimp poboy, I have yet to try anything there. 

Before we left, I had exactly what I had been thinking about all day long:

IMG_1402

IMG_1398

A Kinnikinnick English Muffin:  1/2 with PB&J and 1/2 with cream cheese (Horizon Organic is gluten-free, corn-free, and xanthan/guar-gum free).

At the restaurant, we spent quite a while talking to the owner, who is apparently a personal friend of Kinky Freidman.

Kinky_Friedman.jpg_600

I would love to meet Kinky one day.

Anyway, the owner seemed pretty competent, and while I didn’t ask many questions last night, I think I could go in at an off-time and ask about safe meal options.

The idea was to make a big salad when we got home, but that idea was based on the assumption we’d only be at the meeting for around an hour.  Since it was more than 2 hours before we got home, I abandoned the salad idea in favor of a glass of wine. 

Clearly I have my priorities straight.

When I got home tonight, I really wanted to pop some leftovers into the microwave and spend about 0.3 seconds on dinner.  I stood in front of the fridge… then in front of the freezer… then in front of the pantry for quite a while and wasted more time trying to figure out what would be the easiest thing to make than it would have taken to just make something in the first place.

But I still got off easy.

IMG_1415

IMG_1418

Scrambled egg whites with bell peppers, ancho chile powder, Prudhomme’s Fajita Magic, and shredded cheddar.

Plus protein pancakes with a shmear of butter and syrup.

And pom seeds that weren’t all that amazing.  Out of season, maybe?

IMG_1421

I have a really exciting Friday night planned:  a TiVo’d episode of White Collar, some wine, some chocolate, and my PJs.  I have to work some tomorrow, so it’ll be early to bed tonight. 

Remember the days when Fridays were all about staying out late, closing down the bars?  Seems like eons ago.  I feel so old!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 9:06 PM

    I used to love having peanut butter and creamcheese sandwiches when I was in elementary school, but I have found that now I am in recovery from my ED I cant eat PB anymore because it causes a binge… but I do make sure to have a good serving of cream cheese everyday!! yummy!! 🙂 I hope that you have a nice relaxing weekend!!

  2. January 30, 2010 1:17 AM

    i just did that tonight for the first time in forever, and it was so much fun! don’t know if i’ll make it tomorrow, but it was a great friday night 🙂

  3. January 30, 2010 5:08 AM

    I haven’t closed down a bar in a long time. Almost 10 years probably! Gah. I’m old!

  4. January 30, 2010 10:36 AM

    hahahah so with you on the Friday night! Josh and I ate dinner and then turned on Land of the Lost (which is HORRIBLE)…we both fell asleep in the middle of the movie…probably at 9:30. It rocked 🙂

    That Kinnikinnick English Muffin looks so good. Where do you find yours?

Leave a Reply

