Skip to content

Ch-ch-ch-chia

January 31, 2010

Up early again yesterday morning to blow through some work at breakneck speed at the office.  You know, I don’t jump for joy at getting up before 6 AM on a weekend, but something about knowing I don’t actually have to be at work makes it more enjoyable to actually go to work.  Way more enjoyable.

We’re having a cold spell here in Dallas and while we didn’t get any snow or “wintery mix” as the forecasters like to say, it was pretty freaking cold yesterday morning.   And since I can’t manage to figure out how to work the  thermometer in the office, I sat at my desk with my space heater warming my feet in my huge puffy winter parka and a blanket on my lap.  I was a sight for sore eyes, but at least I wasn’t half frozen.

I left the office a little before noon and Matt and I watched The Truman Show while I ate brunch.

IMG_1423

The mix:

  • punkin
  • ch-ch-ch-chia seeds
  • applesauce
  • nutmeg, punkin pie spice, cinnamon, stevia
  • plain yogurt (Dannon)

All together now:

IMG_1434

I have been eating pumpkin yogurt since at least 2004.  Back in the day, I couldn’t eat dairy, so I made the pumpkin yogurt with plain soy yogurt, which tasted like sour sewage water, pumpkin, a scoop of rice protein powder (because soy yogurt has virtually no protein whatsoever) which tasted like vanilla-flavored dirt, plenty of cinnamon and splenda, and a chopped apple.

Now that I can have as much dairy as my heart (or stomach, more appropriately) desires, I enjoy the mix a whole hell of a lot more.  I’ve never gotten into pumpkin oatmeal, but I love me some pumpkin yogurt and the chia seeds make it even more lovable.

We did a bit of cleaning because our friends Shanda and Ryan were coming over to hang out. 

IMG_1443

Have I mentioned how the cats love plastic grapes?  They bat them around and shove them under the furniture with their other cat toys.

We found hundreds of plastic grapes when we moved the couch and armchair.

IMG_1445

After a good cleaning, I made myself an easy dinner.

IMG_1449

IMG_1452

(It always looks so much prettier before I take it out of the pan)

Easy:

  • broccoli
  • aspagargus
  • snap peas
  • carrots
  • yellow squash
  • red pepper

Mixed with:

  • Walnut Acres organic zinfandel tomato sauce
  • 1/4 c. cottage cheese
  • Prudhomme’s Pizza & Pasta Magic

Then topped with part-skim mozzarella and baked for 30 min. at 350*.

Quick, easy, and pretty fabulous.

Then Shanda and Ryan came over and we chatted, played Apples to Apples, drank wine from their wine club (well Ryan and I did – Shanda can’t drink because she’s pregnant and Matt doesn’t drink wine) and ate smoked gouda, which complimented the wine brilliantly. 

I woke up in a big wine-induced fog this morning and had to drag myself out of bed with the promise of lots of Christmas blend Starbucks coffee.  That did the trick.

But it  didn’t help my rumbling tummy.

Thankfully, Benedict’s did.

IMG_1461

Vegige omelet with broccoli, green peppers, onions, mushrooms, and chives with a side of fruit.

Oh.  And plenty of cheese.

IMG_1462

And (more) coffee with cream.

IMG_1456

I don’t usually eat broccoli – I love it, but it makes my stomach hurt.  This omelet was supposed to have ham instead of broccoli, but I didn’t feel like sending it back.  Actually, I’m just lucky they gave me cheese this time – last time they seemed to not understand that I could also eat dairy even though I couldn’t eat wheat. 

I had a hankering for something sweet when we got back and pulled out the KitchenAid.  Since I made Oatmeal Raisin Cookies last weekend, I’ve been thinking about what else I could do with oatmeal and sugar (what couldn’t you do with oatmeal and sugar??!?!?)

Ta-da – Oatmeal Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies!

IMG_1470

IMG_1478

Chewy and crispy, sweet and gooey. 

And that’s my Sunday, folks.  Off to take a shower and settle in with a movie and maybe a late afternoon glass of wine because it’s Sunday and because next week is likely to suck just as much as this past one did.  But it’s all good when you have some fabulous cookies, a clean house, cuddly kitties, and a pretty fantastic husband to spend the rest of the short weekend with.

What exciting things did you all do this weekend?  What are you looking forward to (or dreading) this week?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2010 5:38 PM

    I hope you get paid well for all that extra time you put in chicky! The pasty/veggie bake looks so so good! I think I could eat anything covered in pasta sauce…ok not anything… Delicious looking cookies too- I love Sunday baking. What am I looking forward to this week? Cooking up some fun new meals and the super bowl!

  2. February 1, 2010 6:32 AM

    We have been snowed in, we have between 8 and 10 inches of snow. Stuck at home again today but hoping to venture out for a bit.

  3. February 1, 2010 9:56 AM

    the most exciting thing i did all weekend was go on a walk with my husband, and some friends, and all of our dogs. i’ve been wanting to do that for so long now!

Leave a Reply

