Skip to content

Cookie Monster

February 1, 2010

Someone needs to just take the cookies away from me.  I’ve had 4 today already!

***

Instead of drumming up dinner last night, we went to Freebird’s.

IMG_1483

I had a Bird Salad:

  • light rice
  • lettuce
  • pico de gallo
  • chicken
  • light cheddar
  • jalepenos
  • grilled peppers and onions
  • lime juice
  • cilantro
  • guacamole

And it was delicious as usual.  If it wasn’t for the drive, we’d probably eat there a whole lot more often.

Predictably, dessert was more cookies and a much-too-small glass of wine.   When Shanda and Ryan were over on Saturday night, they were kind enough to bring a bottle of Cab from their wine club, which Ryan and I demolished (Shanda is pregnant and therefore cannot drink and Matt doesn’t drink wine).  I wish I remembered the name.  It was fabulous – slightly spicy, dry, with good body.

My wine last night was not all that special and there was way too little of it (finishing off an open bottle). 

I slept awfully last night – I couldn’t fall asleep and then when I finally did go to sleep, I woke up multiple times, worrying that my alarm hadn’t gone off.   And to top it off, I woke up too late to go to the gym, but early enough that I didn’t really need to be up at that time.  Great start to a Monday.  😦

I can’t complain too much, though, because today was a pretty bueno day at the office.  I glued my butt to my chair and powered through a whole bunch of things.  I keep telling myself that come March 15th, my life will be a little less crazy and a lot more balanced…. I just have to make it there.

A few days ago, I was drooling over Tina’s tuna melt and decided tonight was the night to make my own.

IMG_1491

Kinnikinnick sandwich bread with:

  • celery
  • red pepper
  • onion
  • carrot
  • cottage cheese
  • mayo
  • s+p
  • lemon juice
  • water-packed tuna

And a slice of cheddar.

Plus a serving or two of kettle-cooked potato chips (Lay’s)  and a salad with all of the tuna-veggie  goodness that wouldn’t fit on the bread.

IMG_1496

I see another cookie and a big glass of wine in my future.  I also see those cookies going into the office tomorrow to ensure I do not eat the entire batch.

Because at the rate I’m going, that’s a definite possibility.

How was your Monday?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 8:58 PM

    HOLY YUM!!! i miss freebird’s so much…i never thought i’d say that, but i do! love the salad thing 🙂

  2. February 2, 2010 5:58 AM

    I hate that feeling of waking up every 20 minutes thinking your alarm didn’t go off- ugh! Glad your Monday went well though. Your dinner form Freebirds looks awesome! I ❤ grilled peppers and onions. My Monday was good- got a lot done. Onto Tuesday!

  3. February 2, 2010 12:22 PM

    That salad looks amazing. If I ever make it to your neighborhood, I’m finding that salad.

Leave a Reply

