Skip to content

Sibling Love

February 2, 2010

Sometimes I wonder if I had to cook for someone other than myself on a day to day basis, I would put more thought into how well the foods go together in what I call a “meal”.

Like tonight.

IMG_1499

I got home really late – 8 PM – and I knew I wanted brussels sprouts but wasn’t sure what to make to go with them.

We’re low on groceries (big surprise).  Normally, I would just heat up a frozen meal, but I’ve been doing that a lot lately despite my resolution to try to cook more.

So… I made an egg sandwich:  Kinnikinnick bread, an egg + 2 egg whites, a tsp of mayo, spinach, and a slice of cheddar.  Not exactly a typical brussels sprouts pairing, but not too shabby in the 4 minutes it took to throw together.

IMG_1503

***

Matt sent me the picture below from his blackberry and it totally made my day.

IMG00011-20100201-1352

That would be Zeus, just chillin’ in the turtle tub and the turtle just eating as if there wasn’t a 12 pound cat invading his home.

IMG00014-20100201-1355

Oh!  But clearly it’s OK because they’re best buds.

(And now we know why there is often half chewed lettuce all over the floor)

It’s almost my bedtime and I haven’t even made it partially through Big Love.

Nite!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 9:36 PM

    haha- random dinners are my favorite 🙂 I always put more thought into the appearance of Josh’s meals vs. my own. I just eat what I love, regardless of what it looks like ;). Your cat is hilarious in that tub of turtles!

  2. February 3, 2010 1:54 AM

    I think you should change your blog name to The Dallas Brussel Sprout! lol

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      February 3, 2010 7:42 AM

      LOL I’ve thought about that!

  3. February 3, 2010 6:43 AM

    That is the cutest thing ever!

  4. February 3, 2010 8:40 AM

    that picture is so sweet! I hope our puppy + cat cuddle one day 🙂

    I just had eggs with brussel sprouts last week, and it was so good!

  5. February 3, 2010 11:06 AM

    that is so cute, it actually totally made my morning too 🙂

  6. Kelly permalink
    February 6, 2010 12:41 PM

    I love that Zeus and Franklin/Olivia can get along so well! Very cute.
    And that egg sandwich sounds really good! I’m going to have to try that one.

Leave a Reply

