Skip to content

Veggiewich

February 3, 2010

Ever since I ate that broccoli-filled omelet on Sunday, my stomach has felt a little off.  Seriously, broccoli is just so good, just not good to me.  It took me a long time to really understand that I could have slight food intolerances to other foods – I used to just think my upset stomach was due to hidden gluten or cross contamination.  Broccoli isn’t a major deal for me – it’s more of an annoyance than a real problem when I eat it – but I try to stay away from it anyway.

Funny, actually, because I’d been wondering if it had been long enough since I last ate some that I might be able to eat it again without any problems.  Guess that’s not the case.  Not yet, at least.

I came home at a decent time today, which should have meant I was willing to spend more than 0.2 seconds making dinner. 

Not the case – we have the LOST season premier to watch!

Cold ‘sprouts for a snack.  I’m on the fence, but I think it is quite possible that I actually like them cold better than hot.  Blasphemy?  I think not.

IMG_1506

They’re strangely filling but not quite a snack in itself, so…

IMG_1508

I had a Pink Lady.  Imagine this guy all covered in PB with a dot of jelly.

And then, I had planned on having a Sunshine burger with guac and pepperjack with a side of butternut squash fries, but since my stomach is still a little touchy, I decided to skip the Sunshine burger since I’d never had that particular flavor.  And since I was so hungry I was about to gnaw off my arm, I had to cut out the squash fries because the thought of waiting an additional 30 minutes to eat was quite painful.

The veggiewich ended up being a great choice.

IMG_1514

Fabulous.

IMG_1517

Too big to fit in my mouth without a little smuuuuushing, but:

  • Kinnikinnick sandwich bread (aka best ever packaged GF bread)
  • thick layer of guacamole on each piece
  • spinach
  • zucchini planks
  • red pepper pieces
  • pepperjack

IMG_1509

Why haven’t I done this before?  It was crunchy and soft, spicy and sweet.

On the side, I had a clean-out-the-still-fresh-veggies-in-the-fridge salad.

IMG_1522

  • romaine
  • red pepper
  • zucchini
  • carrot
  • raisins
  • mozzarella cheese stick
  • agave, salt, and….

IMG_1524

A goodie from the Foodbuzz Festival that is inexplicably still hanging out in my fridge.  Why?  I don’t know – this stuff is pretty great.  I tend to eat variations on balsamic vinaigrette on all of my salads – sometimes it’s straight vinegar, sometimes it’s more olive oil and less vinegar, sometimes I add mustard or garlic, etc.  I haven’t found a bottled dressing I can (or would want to) eat, and as you know, it has to be quick to make or I won’t go to the effort.  😉

And for some reason, I’m still hungry.  Must be the wobbly leg-inducing weights I did this morning.  That’s a major downside to lifting in the morning – I feel spent and wobbly all day whereas if I workout at night, I go to bed and feel fine in the morning. 

Still, working out in the morning simply works better for me, so I guess I’ll go with it, wobbly legs and all.

I see a(nother) snack in my future and the usual glass of wine.

Tomorrow is Thursday! 

What is your go-to salad dressing?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 5:30 AM

    I use oil and vinegar or oil and lemon. I also use salt and pepper and sometimes add other things like dry mustard, garlic or onion powder. I also love to add some of the penzy’s spice blends.

  2. February 4, 2010 6:06 AM

    Ow- I bet the combination of guac and pepperjack cheese on that sammy made it heavenly. My favorite salad dressing is either salsa or balsamic and a little olive oil= heavenly!! I actually (strange) love weights in the AM- that wobbly feeling makes me really feel like I kicked some butt. Yayy for Thursday

  3. Brandi permalink
    February 4, 2010 8:26 AM

    that sandwich sounds awesome – I love dipping zucchini into guacamole 🙂

    And we LOVED that balsamic! I ran out a few weeks ago and am seriously missing it. I made a lot of dressing with it, olive oil, and some dijon mustard – awesome!

  4. February 4, 2010 10:02 AM

    i don’t really have a go-to dressing because it all depends on the salad, but a great one is Annie’s Shittake (sp?) dressing…mmmmmmm 🙂

    • February 6, 2012 12:41 AM

      I would just like to cnomemt from the Bride’s POV (being the bride through this whole storm..) My wedding was a fantastic celebration and time, even despite the storms. This is wholly due to Rhonda and her team. They were FANTASTIC throughout the whole thing and made sure everyone got there safely, although slightly damp . I cannot thank them enough. They were the reason I did not freak out; I knew they had everything under control. Though I had envisioned an outdoor wedding, the team at Water’s Mill made the indoor wedding better than I ever could have imagined!!! Thank you all SO much!!!!!!

    • February 7, 2012 3:29 AM

      TW2Wma coqnbznlzlaa

  5. tastyeatsathome permalink
    February 5, 2010 1:37 PM

    Have you ever tried taking a digestive enzyme when you eat some of those harder-to-digest veggies like broccoli? A good one is Whole Foods Wholezyme – but there are a lot of others. They seem to help – my tummy was having a lot of difficulty with cruciferous veggies and beans, and these enzymes seem to help. Just saying. That salad looks like heaven. I’d be happy with that! Yum.

Leave a Reply

