Skip to content

Spice it up

February 4, 2010

So I haven’t addressed the fact that a couple months ago, I just randomly stopped posting everything I ate.  It was kind of gradual and just never got addressed. 

Basically, I’m not all that creative when it comes to weekday breakfast and lunches.  Not at all.  It’s far easier for me to keep individual containers of soup in the freezer and to make up 5 containers of yogurt + berries and 5 containers of protein shake mix on Sunday and just lug them into the office on Monday. 

So, it just seemed simpler to only record the different stuff.  And even that doesn’t always change much week to week but at least it isn’t quite as redundant as my poor breakfasts and lunches. 

There are several givens in my day:

  • Misto
  • protein shake:  spinach, chocolate protein powder, maca, acacia, unsweetened cocoa powder, and now, ground flaxseed
  • yogurt + berries or yogurt + pumpkin
  • And after dinner, red wine + chocolate chips

Maybe one day I’ll have a less stressful job and will want to take the time to put together more exciting work food, but for now, convenience beats variety.

Necessary Indian

I ran out of my favorite Indian meal – Amy’s Paneer Tikka – whenever the last time I ate it was, which meant I was very disappointed when I went digging in the freezer for it on Monday. 

Once I get the idea of eating something in my head, it’s pretty hard to stop wanting to eat it at every meal after for a while. 

Thankfully, I found a possible substitute in the pantry tonight.

IMG_1528

Love the slogan.  This stuff actually was pleasantly spicy: Tasty Bite’s Jaipur Vegetables

Paired with rice and sauteed collards and it was pretty good.

IMG_1534

While the rice cooked, I briefly boiled the collards (about 4 minutes), then sauteed with a little olive oil, garlic, and lemon juice.  Not Indian-inspired, but it surprisingly went well with the Jaipur Vegetables.

And of course rice is rice.  Goes with everything.

IMG_1539

It wasn’t pretty and it sure wasn’t Paneer Tikka, but it was a nice change from the sandwiches I’ve eaten nearly every other day this week.  🙂

So sore.

You know the phrase ‘Second Day Soreness’?  Not true for me.  In fact, my wobbly leg-inducing workout yesterday morning hit me approximately 13 hours after the workout:  last night.  Got up off the couch to grab a glass of water and –wham!- I felt like I’d run a marathon.  All from some souped-up deadlifts and lunges.  Funny how that works.

This morning, I managed to power through the pain and run sprints.  Clearly a bad idea for fixing soreness because I’ve been hobbling around all day. 

I’m scheduled for another round of torture with the weights at the gym tomorrow morning, but seriously, not sure that I have a muscle in my lower body that didn’t get whipped into shape with what must have been the world’s most effective deadlifts. 

Speaking of which, I must get to drinking the massive glass of wine that’s been waiting for me since dinner so I can fall asleep on the couch again during the last 15 minutes of whatever show we decide to watch.

Like last night.

IMG00017-20100203-2128

Zeus and I:  crashed out on the couch at 9PM. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 8:28 PM

    That’s totally me asleep before anything ends! HA!

  2. February 5, 2010 4:42 AM

    I know what you mean about the blogging. I have been eating so redundantly lately that I feel as though I have nothing to post about food wise. 😦

  3. March 3, 2010 8:02 AM

    Great info!

Leave a Reply

