Skip to content

Short night

February 8, 2010

I woke up this morning at 2:19 AM and could not go back to sleep.  I lay in bed stressing about work for an hour and a half before I finally decided that I wasn’t going to go back to sleep and might as well get up and have the gym to myself.

Wrong.

Who would have thought that 4 AM is the busy hour at this gym?  It wasn’t bursting at the seams by any stretch of imagination, but there were definitely more people there in the 4 o’clock hour than around 5.  Crazy, right?

Also crazy is the fact that 5 of the 6 stair climbers were broken.  I spent the first 10 minutes getting on one machine, climbing for a minute or two and then having the machine spaz out on me.  I’m rather amused that it happened to be the last machine I tried that actually worked.  Even stranger is that after I finished lifting weights, I saw people on all of the machines and they weren’t having any problems.  Guess my brain wasn’t really working after 0.2 seconds of sleep!

Unsurprisingly, I’ve been rather exhausted all day and the stormy, super cold weather hasn’t helped my energy much.  I stumbled home after work like a sleep-starved zombie and have been vegging on the couch with Zeus and the Biggest Loser from last week (yeah, we’re that far behind).   I see an early bedtime in my future.

Leftovers, revisited.

Matt and I were just talking the other day about how great mexican leftovers are because they can be morphed into something different without much effort.

With that in mind, I’d been thinking about a leftovers salad for the vast majority of this afternoon (while my tummy rumbled because I failed to bring enough food).

IMG_1612

Simple but fabulous.

IMG_1618

  • chopped romaine
  • green chile-sour cream turkey casserole (heated)
  • tomatillo salsa
  • salsa
  • chopped red pepper
  • mexican cheese blend
  • Frank’s

IMG_1616

I also had some Nut Thins with guacamole.  I could live off of guacamole. 

It’s only 8:15 but I can tell I’m not going to last much longer.  

Nite!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2010 9:52 PM

    i could also live off of guac…it’s so amazing! it would have been great to do a blogger meet-up, but we were so busy the whole time and now we’re back in denver 😦 next time for sure!

  2. February 9, 2010 12:56 AM

    You’re lucky you can go to bed early when you dont get enough sleep the night before!
    Personally.. I still have to wait until 2 or so AM.. 😐

    xox
    Vera

  3. February 9, 2010 5:14 AM

    hahah. I teach at 5:45 in the morning and get to the gym around 5. It truly is amazing how many people get up to fit a workout in! Sorry you had a sleepy day! Great salad to finish it off with. Hope you got some rest

  4. February 9, 2010 5:35 AM

    Wow, I can’t imagine going to the gym at 4. I have gone at 5 before and was really shocked the first time I went that early.

  5. tastyeatsathome permalink
    February 10, 2010 3:37 PM

    That salad looks amazing. I’d be happy to have it for dinner tonight.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Short night « The Dallas Celiac -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

