Skip to content

Scruffy

February 10, 2010

Since I’m sure you were tired of seeing what cool things I could make out of leftovers, my camera spared you another night of leftovers and ate up all its battery juice last night before I could take any pictures. 

Recently moved to the top of the ‘to buy’ list?   Another camera battery.

Yesterday afternoon, I received the following email from a (very recent) former employee who clearly thinks I am Satan.

Working with you was a hell on earth. You are unprofesional, rude, unsecure,uncouth, barbaric, cold hearted, scruffy, shabby, selfish and inhuman.

Clearly, spelling, grammar, and maturity were not her strong points, which is one of the reasons I fired her.  She was given multiple chances for improvement and chose not to, had a major attitude problem, and generally was not very good at her job.  

Reading this, you would think that I was a slave driver, but I should point out that she sat at a nice desk and did data entry in a climate-controlled building 5 days a week and that every one of my other employees chipped in for a really nice Boss’s Appreciation Day present and some of them even followed me here when I moved to Dallas.  So, I’m not sure what was “inhuman” or ‘barbaric’ about asking her to do exactly what the job description I posted on Monster listed when I hired her.  In the couple months she worked for me, she was the worst employee I had ever had and clearly, she feels as if I was the worst boss ever. 

It’s almost as if she did a thesaurus search as she was writing the email and picked anything that came up.  Oh and ‘scruffy’?  Really?  Gosh, if I had known that, I wouldn’t have bothered spending 20 minutes in the morning straightening my hair.

Since she sounds like she fell off her rocker, I will be very careful when I’m at the office alone for the next little while. 

Have you ever had a crazy former employee?   No one else I’ve ever had to let go has ever made a scene.  In fact, I’ve had several employees that I had to let go for one reason or another keep in touch.

So… today.

Not a bad day – actually, a very productive one – until this evening.  I’m not sure how I got myself talked into getting involved with the neighborhood association, but the meetings are absolutely ridiculous.  There is not enough to talk about that a meeting should take 3 hours.   I dread going to the meetings because of the time, not because the people aren’t nice. 

So dinner was snacky and not really dinner-y because it had to be eaten on the way to the meeting.

Cheese:

IMG_1623

Cereal (with soymilk):

IMG_1630

a Lara

IMG_1631

And then when I got home:

IMG_1634

Mas Carlot Les Enfants Terribles

IMG_1644

I love that they named a wine ‘terrible’ after their children.  That is fabulous.

And anything with Syrah gets my vote.

IMG_1638

2 years ago now?!?!?

IMG_1647

And some chocolate doesn’t hurt anything. 

So.  Not really an all too exciting “dinner” but a real one.  🙂

I woke up super early this morning for the gym again, which was a good thing because tomorrow morning is supposed to be icy and snowy, so it will be a treadmill run at home day.  Texas weather is strange in that during the day, it usually isn’t cold enough that you can’t run from your car to the door without a jacket, but at 5 AM, it’s torturous.  So I put on a jacket to run 20 seconds and then I have to get a locker and store it, which is ridiculous but not so ridiculous that I don’t do it.  I’m not ready for 150* summers yet but I am wishing it was a tad bit warmer outside.

Hope your Wednesday was a good one and that Thursday flies by!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 10:16 PM

    wow, that’s quite the email…i wouldn’t take anyone who writes such ridiculous things seriously at though…i’m sure you’re a great boss! 🙂

  2. February 11, 2010 5:15 AM

    WOW- that is one ridiculous email. Sounds like someone needs to get a grip! I love (as I’ve told you before) snacky dinners! Its just so yummy to have a little bit of everything ❤ Hope you have a good one

  3. February 11, 2010 5:34 AM

    Wow, what a crazy lady you had on your hands!

  4. janeterin permalink
    February 11, 2010 9:42 AM

    Wow, WTF! I can’t imagine you would be anything but lovely to work with/for. Scruffy…seriously? That’s just funny. At least you realize that she was bat***t crazy and it’s not you! 🙂

  5. February 11, 2010 8:45 PM

    That letter made me laugh so hard! Do be careful though.

  6. Matt permalink
    February 13, 2010 1:57 AM

    I’m still happy she called you ‘scruffy’ … it gives me a new nickname to call you 🙂

  7. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 3, 2010 11:27 AM

    That is one crazy email. OMG, i don’t know what I would do. There are some weird ones out there.

Leave a Reply

