Skip to content

Snow-flakes

February 11, 2010

Out of the bosom of the Air,
  Out of the cloud-folds of her garments shaken,
Over the woodlands brown and bare,
  Over the harvest-fields forsaken,
    Silent, and soft, and slow
    Descends the snow. 
Even as our cloudy fancies take
  Suddenly shape in some divine expression,
Even as the troubled heart doth make
  In the white countenance confession,
    The troubled sky reveals
    The grief it feels. 
This is the poem of the air,
  Slowly in silent syllables recorded;
This is the secret of despair,
  Long in its cloudy bosom hoarded,
    Now whispered and revealed
    To wood and field.

– Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Living in Texas means that there usually isn’t a whole lot of opportunity to see a lot of that white fluffy stuff.

This year, though, it has snowed 4 times. 

IMG_1668

IMG_1670

Snow!

It has been snowing ALL DAY.  I have lived in Texas almost my entire life, with a short break in Oklahoma, and I have never seen it snow all day.  Ever.  Nor have I seen it really accumulate on the ground.  This is fabulous.

It did take me quite a while to brush enough off my car to drive home and 1/2 of it was still on it when I pulled into the garage, but the roads are still pretty safe to drive on, even if you’re a pretty awful driver (*cough, cough*) like someone I know.

I know those of you on the east coast are ridiculously tired of the snow, but I’m so happy to have it.  Despite the multiple times we’ve seen snow this year, it hasn’t really been a very cold winter.  I love (moderately) cold weather – I’m not a summer girl by any means, although I imagine that has a lot to do with the particular TEXAS summers we experience here.

It is quite likely to ice overnight as the temperatures drop, which would be great if I could take a snow day and stay home, but there is absolutely no chance that can happen.  The audit starts on Monday and I’m a bit behind.  Rather way behind, actually.  Add to that a new employee and I barely do anything but think about work lately. 

C. Chips

I had a strange hankering for collards today which is rather convenient given that I have a bag of prewashed, pretorn collards big enough to feed a small village.  Recently I’ve stir fried them and made chips out of them.  My SIL makes fabulous vinegar-y greens, which I plan on doing this weekend if the bag is still good by then.  And really, I know there is more that I could do with them… but why mess with what works?

Delicious little piles of green salty goodness it was.

IMG_1662

IMG_1677 Collards in chip form and butternut squash in fry form.  Drizzled with ketchup, the best condiment there is.

And to round out my well-planned and super coordinated dinner:

IMG_1656

Kinnikinnick english muffins with cream cheese.  Warm, crusty bread-like substance with cold cream cheese.  Seriously, try it. 

I’m ready to crash on the couch in my PJs with a big blanket and a hot cup of chai tea and enjoy the chilly night.  Wish it was Friday night already and I’d be a happy camper!

How much snow have you gotten where you live?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 9:34 PM

    the snow is incredible there…my sister was telling me how much it’s snowed and i just can’t believe it! i think during my 24 years in Texas I only saw it snow like that once 🙂

  2. February 12, 2010 3:59 AM

    WOW! I can’t believe it snowed all day there. We haven’t gotten any but there is a threat of a flurry tonight. To be honest…I am a summer girl. I’d be ok with not seeing snow ever 😉 Yum to the nights eats (as always). I had a sweet potato last night that I wanted to make into fries last night but was too hungry to wait for them to cook when I got home from teaching last night!

  3. February 12, 2010 3:59 AM

    ow and happy early valentine’s day btw! Are you loving the starbucks heart cups?

  4. February 12, 2010 5:33 AM

    Too damn much. All winter, about 30 inches. Grrr.

  5. tastyeatsathome permalink
    February 13, 2010 9:57 PM

    LOVING the Dallas area snow. I’m sad that today it started to really melt away. But it was pretty!

Leave a Reply

