Skip to content

TGIF

February 12, 2010

Crazy busy Friday.

I woke up at 4 AM, wide awake.  It would have been the perfect opportunity to get in an early workout but not only did I not want to drive on what I assumed would be a solid sheet of ice, but I just didn’t feel like working out.  My getting out of bed woke up Matt who got up with me.

So we put on a pot of coffee and sat on the couch with our laptops and worked for a couple hours before I braved the roads, which turned out to completely unnecessary as the snow was simply slushy and not a problem to drive in.  I had really welcomed an excuse to wear my running shoes (since traipsing through the snow in heels yesterday wasn’t the world’s brightest idea) and a sweatshirt to the office… until my boss’s boss decided he wanted to have an impromptu meeting.  :/  … which made me feel a little scruffy

I had a great night planned that included actually doing something rather than throwing a bunch of random leftovers in a bowl and calling it something exciting, but alas, work had other ideas for me.  I should keep more emergency snacks at the office for situations like this because I was about to gnaw off my own leg when I got home.

So it’s rather fortuitous that there are still Superbowl party leftovers kicking around in the fridge.

IMG_1695

  • Green chile-sour cream-turkey-rice stuff
  • grilled bell pepper strips
  • guac
  • plain yogurt
  • Tabasco
  • salsa

IMG_1698

After taking some pictures, I dumped more Tabasco on it and mixed it all together.  🙂

So, I show pictures of the kitties pretty frequently.  They’re cuddly, adorable, less likely to scare anyone (our realtor told us we had to have someone else take care of them when we were showing the house because some people might be really scared) and more importantly, don’t have shells in which to crawl and hide like the turtles do.

But when the turtles are out and cuddling (with each other – despite years of trying to get Franklin to cuddle with us, I have given up), they’re ridiculously adorable.

IMG_1686

Olivia (the smaller, lighter brown one) and Franklin:  starting Valentine’s Day early.  😉

Speaking of Valentine’s Day, what are you doing?  Matt and I don’t celebrate in a traditional way – I personally think that it’s a Hallmark holiday – but we are planning on a low-key, relaxing weekend with just the two of us. 

One week until my birthday!  I’ll be a quarter century old.  🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2010 11:18 PM

    cute turtles!

    My oldest just turned 17 😀 NOW I feel old.

    Your realtor thought your cats would scare people?

    And we don’t celebrate much either. We have my son’s birthday today and my husband’s yesterday and after that we make cards and maybe give some chocolates. I think this year we will definitely be making our own chocolates instead of buying store bought!

  2. February 13, 2010 6:27 AM

    We are going to have a pretty low key weekend. I have a consultation with my nutionist today as well as an appointment to get my hair done. Then, we are trekking out to Whole Foods and Trader Joes for groceries. Tomorrow, we might go to a couple yoga class and I am making crab cakes for dinner.

    Enjoy your weekend!

  3. February 13, 2010 9:32 AM

    Hope you two are having a good weekend so far! Love the pictures of your little guys- what cuties! Franklin definitely looks like hes wanting some loving 😉 We are either going to go out for brunch or frozen yogurt tomorrow. Other than that, we’re not much for a BIG valentine’s day celebration

  4. February 13, 2010 11:20 AM

    we just think valentine’s day should be spent with people you love, so i think we’re going to try to do a get-together with friends 🙂 should be fun!

Leave a Reply

