Skip to content

Squash Squash Squash

February 18, 2010

I may or may not have mentioned earlier that we (as in, my company) are undergoing our annual financial audit, which is basically someone reviewing everything I’ve done for the past year.  It’s extremely, extremely stressful and crazy.  I imagine that I’m going to have very few exciting things to talk about except for the audit for the next week and a half, so bear with me.  🙂

I came home last night, ate an Amy’s Indian meal that I was kind enough to not photograph for you (seriously, anyone that can make a frozen meal look appealing after it’s been nuked to death is my hero), and passed out on the couch sometime around 8 PM.  I’m cool like that.

Then –maybe due to going to bed at 8, maybe due to the extreme stress… but probably due to the copious amount of wine I drank last night- I woke up at 2:30 AM.  Wide awake.  Staring at the ceiling awake.

So I got up, showered, and headed into the office.  I literally was sitting at my desk  filing sales taxes at 3:30 AM.  It was kind of great in a way – I got an enormous amount of work done in a much shorter time frame than it usually takes because there weren’t any distractions.  On the other hand, it’s 6:45 PM and my eyes are glazing over.  Which means I’ll fall asleep early and probably wake up before most college kids go to bed… for the second day in a row.  Good grief.

So… tomorrow is my 25th birthday.  I know I sound ridiculous saying this, but I really am not looking forward to being 25.  I still think of myself as being just right out of college and 25 no longer feels right out of college.  It’s also surprisingly scary just how fast the years after college have flown by. 

But I digress.

For dinner tonight, I made three types of squash, three ways.

IMG_1853

Acorn squash “fries”:

IMG_1860 

Zucchini “chips”:

IMG_1859

(fries and chips were, of course, served with a healthy helping of ketchup for dippage)

and Kabocha “pudding”:

IMG_1868

(which –let’s be honest- is just leftover pureed Kabocha with a little butter, cinnamon, and pumpkin pie spice)

And a fruit and yogurt bowl for protein and all that other good stuff.

IMG_1867

The husband makes fruit salad all the time to munch on but I rarely partake.  I like fruit but it doesn’t do anything towards keeping me full.  At all. 

But paired with yogurt, it’s a match made in heaven.  I used to eat cereal in yogurt for the texture, but firm fruit works just as well.

  • 1/2 c. Oikos
  • 1/2 c. Stoneyfield Farms plain lowfat yogurt
  • pineapple, plums, kiwi, mandarin oranges, nectarines

IMG_1863

***

Tomorrow I will be 25!  Aaaaah!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2010 8:13 PM

    awwwwwwwwww! Happy Birthday (a little early)!! Sounds like you had a longggggggg day! I hope you get some good rest tonight. Yummy dinner- like I said previously, I can’t get enough squash. And all the fruit looks amazing. We’re having fruit and cool whip dip again this weekend and I can hardly wait for it. Do lots of extra special stuff for yourself tomorrow (I’m thinking you need 2 mistos ;))

  2. February 18, 2010 8:15 PM

    hey- the salad is GF! Its listed on the GF menu: http://www.carrabbas.com/menu/pdf/GFmenu.pdf

  3. February 18, 2010 8:16 PM

    Ok, I swear this is the last comment haha- make sure you ask for the dressing on the side…they go way too heavy if you don’t

  4. February 18, 2010 9:26 PM

    Happy Birthday a Day Early!! I am sure that you will have a great day!! Hope that your husband cooks you something nice for dinner tomorrow night!! 😉

  5. February 19, 2010 6:37 AM

    Happy Birthday, girlie. 25 ain’t bad. Wait till you hit 30 😀

  6. February 19, 2010 10:00 AM

    happy birthday!!!! 25 was a great year…hope you enjoy it 🙂

  7. janeterin permalink
    February 19, 2010 10:05 AM

    Happy Birthday!!!

    Girl, tell me about it. I am going to be 30 this year. THIRTY! How is that possible? I was just, like, 22. Anyway, I know it’s way easier said than done but really enjoy it because I swear you will look back and think about how young you were at 25! I wish I could go back and enjoy that age again (oh and I wish I had started using eye cream earlier, lol!).

    Hope you have a fabulous, non-scruffy day! 😉

  8. February 19, 2010 10:45 PM

    Your fruit salad looks too tasty, I practically licked my screen! Happy early birthday!!!! I know how you feel about feeling just out of college, I’m turning 25 this summer and I’m a little freaked out as well.

  9. February 4, 2012 8:37 AM

    ahhhh i am SO GLAD you and josh got to gawtaey for a week in the bright, shiny sun! that is so great, and it looks like you two had a great time. love, love, love it!i am excited because i should be getting that galaxy granola anyday. and i would LOVE to win some brown rice! i have never tried that kind before!love ya girl!

  10. February 5, 2012 8:23 AM

    cF59Vc pipoxezscqgp

Leave a Reply

