Skip to content

Two-five

February 20, 2010

10 cool things about my birthday:

1. Woke up early enough to dry & straighten my hair so I looked slightly presentable on my birthday.  I typically only dry it a little, scrunch curl creme into it and wear it wavy to save time.

2. Free birthday misto at Starbucks :)  I received a Starbucks giftcard from my parents for Valentine’s Day (so sweet) and one from my MIL for my birthday so I loaded them onto my Gold Card.

3. 2 gifts from 2 of my employees and a lot of nice birthday wishes and cards.  (Take THAT, disgruntled former employee that said all kinds of mean things to me – clearly, my other employees don’t feel the same way!)

4. Surprise 2nd Starbucks at about 9:30, delivered by the best husband in the world.  Actually, he was coming to bring me deodorant, which I’d forgotten that morning (does anyone else do that?  I usually keep some in my purse but I’d run out), but he says he was going to bring it to me anyway.  🙂

5. IT had to turn off network access for most of my employees at noon, so while I was able to stay and work until happy hour time, I didn’t have any interruptions and it was nice and quiet.

6. Starbucks date with my little sister, who drove down from OU to take me to a birthday coffee date.  I had an iced coffee with half & half. 

Don’t we look alike?

IMG_1603_edited 

7. Came home to a clean house, flowers, and grocery shopping for the week complete.  Even better?  A husband that knows your taste.  He knows never to buy me roses or any pink flowers. 

IMG_1915

8. Fabulous dinner out with Matt – perfect end to a hectic week.

We went to Chamberlain’s, one of our favorite restaurants in Dallas.  We always have a great time there – the service is great, the food is fantastic, and as long as we mention Celiac when we make the reservations, I never have to even talk to anyone about it once we arrive. 

(Sorry in advance for the dim pictures – the ambiance was perfect for dinner, not so perfect for picture-taking)

IMG_1873

A Chateau St. Jean Cab to start.  Really like this one.

IMG_1881

Marinated tomato and mozzarella salad with fresh basil, aged balsamic, onion, and watercress.  It was fresh, light, and sweet.

IMG_1882

Filet mignon with a baked potato.  This is the reason I eat at steakhouses.  I love filet and this one was perfectly cooked and perfectly seasoned. 

IMG_1887

Potato sides – my favorite part of the baked potato!  I had a little of everything except for the chives – not a huge fan.

And for dessert…

IMG_1893

Vanilla bean creme brulee.  Ah-mazing.  I ate every bite even though I felt like a stuffed water buffalo as we left.

Oh, and the waiter brought it out with a lit candle and I definitely made a wish.  🙂

9. Free dessert so the bill was cheaper than it should have been.  See above for the amazingness.

10. Went to bed at 9 and slept for 13 hours. 🙂

***

And that about wraps it up – we will be “celebrating” my birthday again next weekend with my parents, after the audit is over. 

To do today:

– laundry

– a little work

– homework

– an afternoon nap 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2010 3:28 PM

    awwwwwww! What a great day! I love that it was starbucks filled 🙂 And the husband rocks! He really did EVERYTHING right! Glad you enjoyed the dinner. A nap sounds pretty good right now. Enjoy the rest of your weekend

  2. February 20, 2010 7:28 PM

    You are a 1/4 of a century, CONGRATS!!!!! I’m glad it was a good day.

  3. Lindsey permalink
    February 20, 2010 7:38 PM

    Happy Birthday! It looks like you had a great day.

  4. February 21, 2010 7:24 AM

    happy Belated birthday! Sounds like you had a great one!

Leave a Reply

