Skip to content

Leftovers + Repeats

February 21, 2010

Does anyone else dread Sunday nights as much as I do?  The only thing that saves them is Desperate Housewives and Brothers & Sisters (oh, and during football season, the late game).  Sunday signals (nearly) an entire week until freedom again.  And this week is not going to be an easy one.

/pessimism.

Saturday

I had a pretty low-key, fabulous Saturday.  Sometimes you just need to sit on the couch all day without doing anything productive at all. 

I was starving when I woke up, so I had a bowl of Erewhon brown rice cereal (along with the normal coffee + soymilk).

IMG_1895

And then about an hour later, I made a ‘leftovers’ breakfast:

IMG_1901 

And then proceeded to be really hungry for the rest of the day.  This should have held me over:  protein and fat from the eggs, protein from the filet, and carbs from the potato and squash. 

But it didn’t. 

So I had breakfast #3.

IMG_1941

Which seemed to finally do the trick – 2 Van’s GF waffles with peanut butter & jelly inside.

We did a whole lot of nothing but didn’t feel motivated to do really anything for dinner.

So, I took the 5 minute cop-out and made a sandwich.

IMG_1946

  • Kinnikinnick sandwich bread
  • Wholly Guacamole
  • pepperjack
  • tomato
  • mesquite smoked turkey breast
  • carrots with more guac on the side

IMG_1949

And for dessert – the most fabulous frozen yogurt I’ve made thus far.

IMG_1952

Simple:

  • 1 c. plain Stoneyfield Farms lowfat yogurt
  • 1/2 c. plain Oikos
  • stevia, vanilla, unsweetened dark cocoa powder
  • coconut
  • chocolate chips

It was fabulous.

After I ate my “ice cream”, I pretty much passed out on the couch while watching Whiteout.  Couldn’t give you a review of the movie if I’d tried.

Sunday

I love waking up earlyish on Sunday mornings – it makes the day so much longer.  I woke up around 7 this morning and spent a couple hours working and reading blogs before Matt woke up. 

The kitties were happily cuddling on the chair.

IMG_1958

I swear, we couldn’t have found two cats that loved each other more if we’d tried. 

Hungry again, I tried a different breakfast approach.

IMG_1965

  • 1/4 c. oats
  • 1/4 c. oatbran
  • 1 c. soymilk
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1 T. chia seeds
  • vanilla, cinnamon, stevia

Topped with:

  • cacao bliss
  • peanut butter
  • grape jelly

I mixed it all together and inhaled it and it did keep me full – it sat like a rock in my stomach – for about 2 hours and then I was hungry again.

I prepped a couple batches of soup and threw it in the crockpot for lunches and made myself some lunch afterwards.

Not exactly a match made in heaven, but good on their own.

IMG_1971

Amy’s Paneer Tikka.

IMG_1975

  • green leaf lettuce
  • green bell pepper
  • carrot
  • feta
  • craisins
  • dark cherry balsamic, olive oil, salt

I’ve really enjoyed feta on salads recently.  My favorite salad cheese is gorgonzola but I’ve never bought some to eat at home – I should.

Dinner was equally as lazy (what is wrong with us?  We’ve done nothing but watch Spartacus (really good show, by the way) and play Super Mario Wii all weekend.

IMG_1979

  • the LAST of the leftover acorn squash fries
  • egg white/tri colored peppers/mexican spices/cottage cheese/cheddar scramble
  • hash browns with ketchup

Eggs and potatoes?  Did that already this weekend.  Guess it’s not only a weekend of leftovers, it’s a weekend of repeats.

But better than anything else? 

Chocolate Kabocha for dessert.

IMG_1986

(Yes, I realize that the orange Kabocha made brown by cocoa powder doesn’t exactly make a pretty picture)

I swear this stuff tastes frighteningly like a really rich chocolate pudding.  I pureed about a cup of Kabocha with about a tablespoon of dark cocoa powder, stevia, and vanilla and then topped him with some chocolate chips.  It was divine. 

I’m getting sleepy – doing nothing productive all day will do that to you – and Desperate Housewives is on! 

How was your weekend?  Do anything exciting?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 5:09 AM

    You are really tempting me with the squash pudding. Sure, they look kind of interesting but they sound really good!

  2. February 22, 2010 6:24 AM

    Weekends with very little on tap are the best! I had eggs for breakfast and dinner yesterday if it makes you feel better. Sometimes repeat meals are exactly what you want. Weekend was fun over here but busy. I hope your day isn’t too rough!

Leave a Reply

