Skip to content

Fuzzy feelings & fuzzy things

February 22, 2010

What does this say to you?

IMG_1990

Besides that I paid more than I should have for a jar of so-so marinara sauce, it tells me that this jar moved with us from Oklahoma in October 2008.

Dodson’s was/is the world’s greatest health food store.  Better than Whole Foods.  Better than EarthFare.  Better than Trader Joe’s (actually, I wouldn’t know – I’ve never been to one).  See, Dodson’s is the original neighborhood health food store.  They carry stuff I’ve never found since and they’ll special order just about anything.  I also love that the owner can be found stocking the shelves and wandering the aisles, asking if anyone needs help finding anything or has any questions.

And even better:  it was right on my way home, right by the gym.  Which means I stopped by frequently and often spent an arm and a leg on tofu and Fage.

So, while I have general warm fuzzy feelings about Dodson’s, seeing their sticker on the marinara I just ate does not give me warm fuzzy feelings.

Nor does seeing this.

IMG_1992

Since it’s just marinara sauce – how “bad” can olive oil, tomatoes, and spices get? – I’m not too worried.  But I’ll have my fingers crossed anyway.

—–

My company consolidated our two headquarters in Dallas into one this weekend, which involved a lot of IT stuff that I frankly don’t understand.  What I do understand is that someone was parked in MY spot despite the fact that I rolled into the parking lot around 6:15 this morning.  Since I don’t know that it is appropriate to freak out about someone taking my spot – totally OK to do when you’re in kindergarten and the bratty girl with the pretty curls sits in YOUR chair – I think I might have to beat that person to work tomorrow to reclaim my spot.  Totally worth it.

So, my spot taken and my feathers ruffled, I headed into my office only to discover that all of the IT junk that was going on over the weekend apparently involved moving my desk around.  Why, you ask?  Don’t know.  Can’t find any reason whatsoever that my desk should have been moved.  So I took off my heels, rolled up my sleeves, and got in a week’s worth of cardio in about 5 minutes.  No one can say that I don’t take things into my own hands, but some might say I should have showered again afterwards.  😉

It was a strange start to a really strange day.  Having everyone in the same office again was weird.  And I had a lunch meeting that proved to be even weirder.  Can’t give the details, but lets say that I couldn’t get out of there fast enough.

But the good news is that I did 75% of my Corporate & Partnership Tax exam last night and the other 25% after work today.  It feels fabulous to be done early and even more fabulous to have had such a productive day at work.

Veggies + Cheese

Is there a better combo?

People ask all the time what I would miss most if I had to give up something else.  I’ve been through the wringer on food intolerances:  first it was dairy, then dairy + fat, then dairy + fat + gluten, then just dairy + gluten, then –for a blissful, yet short time- just gluten, then gluten + corn, then gluten + corn + Xanthan Gum, and now, gluten + corn + Xanthan Gum + Guar Gum.  The dairy and fat problems were really undiagnosed Celiac, but the corn seems to be a permanent annoyance.

I definitely love me some tortilla chips and I do miss being able to eat out and pick anything off the menu, but of all of the things that I’m really happy to be able to eat?  Dairy. 

And not just any dairy.  Cheese.

IMG_1993

Yeah, I realize that it’s not the prettiest thing (that seems to be a theme lately), but what it lacks in photographability, it makes up for in ooey, gooey, cheeseyness. 

Good stuff:

  • green beans, yellow squash, red pepper, yellow pepper, snap peas
  • (freaking ancient) marinara sauce
  • a good shake of Prudhomme’s
  • cheeeeeeeeeeeeeese (part-skim mozzarella)

What goes better with expired marinara-drenched veggies and cheese?

Wine and chocolate and an early bedtime. 

Early bird gets the worm parking spot!

—–

Have you ever eaten anything expired?  How bad was it?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 8:39 PM

    I’m sorry work was so annoying! I miss my local healthfood store too – I had the same deal: owners in the aisles, awesome products that don’t seem to be anywhere else, right by my gym…

  2. February 22, 2010 8:53 PM

    What a way to start the week! Glad you ended it with a delicious meal (you know I love veggies and marinara). I’ve def consumed my fair share of “expired” food and lived to blog 😉

  3. February 22, 2010 10:09 PM

    i haven’t eaten anything expired that i know of…i’m so incredibly anal about it! even if something smells OK, i will still throw it out because i’m just that paranoid. i bet you survive though!

  4. February 23, 2010 12:26 AM

    Mmm, cheese! That would be rough to give up. And ice cream.

    A few months ago my friend brought over some cheese and crackers. Apparently the crackers were from her old apartment, and, like, YEARS old, because they were one of the most foul things I’ve ever tasted (even though the package was unopened – they must have been REALLY old). I still feel ill thinking about it.

  5. tastyeatsathome permalink
    February 23, 2010 2:27 PM

    I feel the same way – I’d be so sad if I had to give up cheese. I’d rather give up gluten than cheese. I can make gluten-free bread. But dairy-free cheese? Have you ever tasted what’s out there? Yuck. Anyway, I have eaten certain things that have been expired. As long as they’re unopened, canned/jarred and still seem okay, I figure, why not? If they’ve been open a while, or are perishable items, then I’d rather not try it out. As for milk – always the sniff test if it’s nearing expiration!

Leave a Reply

