Skip to content

Plenty of chocolate

February 26, 2010

TGIF

Seriously.

The audit is almost over.  The fieldwork is done (or nearly done), so this weekend they are drafting the financials and then the partner of the firm will review the audit manager’s work and they will issue the opinion sometime next week. 

The audit is unquestionably the most important thing I do all year – it’s really a test of how well I did my job in 2009.  So I’m ready for it to be tied with a pretty bow and done so I can move on.  🙂

Sorry for going MIA yesterday – it was the last day of fieldwork and it had been a stressful, crazy day.  I really wanted some Nut Thins and guac for dinner, so I stopped by the store on my way home to grab some.  They didn’t have any so I stopped by another store, which also didn’t have any.  By that time it was super late and I was absolutely exhausted, so I came home and ate steamed rice for dinner.  Exciting, no?

Tonight’s “dinner” was equally strange. 

I’m not generally one to eat based on my emotions (I’m not all that emotional to begin with).  In fact, I’m much more likely to lose my appetite when I’m stressed than to eat because of it.

But tonight, all I wanted was to mindlessly eat crap.  My brain is clearly tired of processing and wanted a break.  Thank goodness I had a giant salad for lunch because that’s where the veggies ended today.

Coo coo for Cocoa Puffs

Not real Cocoa Puffs anyway (even if they were GF, they look and smell way too much like dry dog food) but the GF version.  Yes, I realize they are not puff-shaped… that makes them superior.

IMG_2027

Eaten with soymilk on the couch in my PJs (you have now seen my 2 favorite PJ pants:  fish and lollipops). 

Chocolate Icing

IMG_1574

This stuff is fabulous – chocolatey and sweet but not too sweet.  And the fact that you have to heat it up to really eat it (otherwise it is too solid and flakes) means that it requires thought to steal a bite.

I had a big spoonful to finish off the jar. 

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

IMG_2036

At the store last night, I passed by the ice cream aisle and wondered when the next time I would buy ice cream would be and decided that it might be quite a while.  This homemade stuff is too good and too good for you to justify buying something packaged instead.

This was:

  • 1-1/4 c. plain low-fat yogurt
  • 2/3 c. plain Oikos
  • 2 T. cocoa powder
  • stevia
  • vanilla

Topped with chocolate chips.

It’s pretty much a health food but it feels like I’m eating a giant bowl of ice cream.  What I love is that it really isn’t any different –except for the addition of the cocoa powder and chocolate chips- than a yogurt mix I would eat for breakfast with fruit.

—–

I have to go into the office tomorrow morning to get a head start on all the things I have been ignoring the last few weeks.  While I’m not exactly happy about working tomorrow, I see a light at the end of the tunnel and an end to these 70+ hour weeks.

Q:  Do you like your job?   Despite how stressed out mine makes me at times, I do like what I do.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2010 9:58 PM

    OK, so the first couple paragraphs sounded like Japanese to me… 🙂

    i don’t ADORE my job, but it’s a good place for me to be right now while i figure out my life!

  2. February 27, 2010 6:32 AM

    oh girly! You deserved that chocolatey dinner! That bowl of “ice cream” looks juts amazing. My job is ok. I do financial type work as well. But I love my group fitness job 🙂 🙂 Hope you get everything tied up quickly and have some relax time

  3. February 27, 2010 6:36 AM

    My job pays the bills but I am working towards working for myself by the end of 2010 so we will see.

  4. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 3, 2010 2:27 PM

    I love my job and am very blessed to have it, but it does get stressful. You probably think I don’t even have one fromthe way I’ve been commenting onyour posts, but I do. haha. It’s getting really busy here, so that is good…Job Security!

    Heather @ http://www.forthehealthofit01.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

