Skip to content

Like death warmed over

February 28, 2010

Heyyyy.  Hope you guys had a great weekend!

I, however, did not. 

A while back, I read the much-anticipated Thrive by Brendan Brasier.  I thought it was a fabulous book – I’m not raw nor do I imagine I’ll ever go 100% raw, but I thought the arguments behind a raw-based diet were sound and I try to incorporate fresh, raw produce into my diet whenever possible.   One of the topics in the book that has stuck with me is the concept of nutritional stress – basically the idea that not only can not eating the right foods (i.e. getting enough nutrients) can cause stress on your body but eating the wrong ones in addition the right ones can also cause stress.

It’s ironic that the more stressed we are – from work, school, whatever – the less time or effort we have to make ourselves a meal chock full of the nutrients we need, yet it’s when we’re most stressed that we need really good food the most.  We’re more likely to reach for fast food (or in my case, a Larabar and string cheese) than make a huge salad with veggies and nuts, which in turn creates more stress on our body.

It’s also ironic that right after a really stressful time at work (which isn’t quite done yet – it won’t be over til the fat lady sings and that fat lady should sing sometime mid week) that I get really sick.  I’m glad that I my body was able to hold off the bugs from invading my system until after the most stressful part, but it’s still frustrating.   I have some sort of cold/upper respiratory infection and a really bad case of acid reflux that is causing major chest and upper back pain (pretty image, I know).

I went into the office for 4 hours yesterday morning and left early when I started feeling bad.  I couldn’t even pinpoint it – it wasn’t like a specific thing hurt, I just didn’t feel well.  Came home and fell asleep on the couch and then moved into the bedroom when I slept for 3 hours.  I haven’t taken a non-vacation nap in maybe 2 years – I just don’t need them.  Then I fell asleep on the couch again last night at 8:45 and slept until 10:45 this morning.

Ironically (that seems to be the key word in this post), I just felt worse this morning – pounding headache, stuffed up nose… and then realized why I felt so bad yesterday even though nothing specifically felt bad:  it was a pre-sick day.  Those are the worst.

All of that brings me to:  yesterday’s eats.  I don’t have pictures (I could barely drag myself off the couch to get in bed) and they weren’t healthy.  The husband was kind enough to get me what I asked for:  waffle fries and a salad from Chic fil A (both GF, of course) and Hershey’s nuggets with toffee and almonds.

While tasty, what I really needed when sick as a dog was green.  Granted, I did eat salad, but only because I didn’t feel like I should make a meal out of chocolate and french fries (although it’s been done before). 

Today, I feel worse, but I recognize the need for stuffing my body with nutrients, not stuffing my body with chemicals and salt.

So I dragged my sniffly, sneezy self (much to the pleasure of the other shoppers – sorry guys) to the Korean grocery store and bought fresh veggies for the week:  red leaf and romaine lettuce, red chard, kale, brussels, asparagus, tofu, a lemon, a strange citrus fruit that I don’t recognize, soymilk, and a big knob of ginger.  All for $19.11 – which could be the reason I was the happiest I’ve ever been when leaving a grocery store despite feeling like death.

So I present go-away-cold juice and don’t-feel-like-ass salad.

IMG_2049

This scary looking cup of plant blood contained:

  • red leaf lettuce
  • zucchini
  • celery
  • cucumber
  • lemon
  • apple
  • ginger
  • stevia

And it was fabulous.  Not pretty, but fabulous.

Part II of dinner was more chlorophyll.

IMG_2060

  • red leaf,  romaine, red chard, kale
  • tomato
  • yellow squash
  • GUAC
  • red pepper
  • carrots

IMG_2059

Off to resume my place on the couch and feeling like death. 

—–

Hope you all had a better weekend than I did.  What exciting things did you do this week?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2010 8:04 PM

    Yuck, feel better! I watched 7 episodes of “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” this weekend….

  2. February 28, 2010 8:52 PM

    Mmmm that salad makes my mouth water! You should come and post a meal or recipe on my link up tomorrow “Just Another Meatless Monday”
    I truly hope you feel better soon, I hate being sick. That said, I have dislocated ribs which hurt like hell and would much rather be sick and get to sleep. ((((((HUGS))))))

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      March 1, 2010 10:09 PM

      Ugh – so sorry to hear about your dislocated ribs! How did you do THAT??

  3. March 1, 2010 11:45 AM

    Feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

