Skip to content

Gin + Juice

March 2, 2010

I don’t know why but every time I use my juicer, that song – circa 1993 and oh so cheesy – pops right into my head.  

IMG_2051

I’ve been drinking the same blend I made the other day:

  • red leaf
  • zucchini
  • cucumber
  • lemon
  • ginger
  • celery
  • carrot
  • stevia
  • apple

And I think it’s definitely made me feel a little better.  I still feel like my head has been stuffed with a large Q-tip.

I’ve also been drinking smoothies.  They’re easy, tasty, and the nutrients are more easily absorbed.  But the best part?

The husband has been doing the dirty work (i.e. throwing a bunch of random ingredients into the blender).

IMG_2062

  • soymilk
  • pom juice
  • spinach
  • frozen raspberries, strawberries, blueberries, mango
  • fruit salad (nectarine, plums, mandarin oranges, kiwi, pineapple)
  • plain yogurt

I have also eaten my fair share of steamed rice which I think is the ultimate sick food.  I could eat plain rice every day and not get sick of it, as long as I had some salt.

IMG_2070

I went to work today and must have looked as awful as I felt because everyone stayed at least 10 feet away from me.

I left the office early – the plan was to go home and take a nap but that didn’t happen.  Instead, we went to a little Cajun restaurant around the corner for an early dinner:  Dodie’s

Matt eats there quite a bit but I’ve never taken the chance.  However, we were there for a neighborhood association meeting a couple months ago and the owner seemed very involved and very competent, so we decided to give it a try tonight. 

Instead of a side salad, I opted for the coleslaw.

IMG_2078

This was basically red and green cabbage dressed in olive oil and vinegar with a ton of spices.  It had a great kick to it and was tart and a bit spicy at the same time.  I had 2 plates’ worth.

They had flounder as a special so they sautéed me a filet in white wine, garlic, lemon, and a little butter with mushrooms, artichoke hearts, tomatoes and topped with crab meat. 

IMG_2082

Served with yellow squash, zucchini, and broccoli.

IMG_2086

This was a nice change from the usual.  I really like fish and we definitely do not eat it often enough now that we have access to fresh – albeit not right-out-of-the-ocean fresh – seafood.

I finished my tax homework and am gearing up for the Biggest Loser along with a couple of decongestants and a big sexy box of tissues.

Hope you all are having a good start to the week!

—–

Q:  When was the last time you got sick?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 9:07 PM

    The food looks delicious. I hope you’re feeling better soon. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. March 3, 2010 9:01 AM

    that cole slaw looks awesome.

    I’ve had a “cold” for about a month now that just won’t go away completely.

  3. March 3, 2010 9:59 AM

    um, i just got sick this past weekend…just a cold, but still no fun! i ate at dodie’s when i was in dallas a couple of weeks ago! except your dinner looks much healthier than the food i had… 🙂

  4. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 3, 2010 2:31 PM

    Like for really bad sick??? I don’t remember. I did have (get, this and I’m totally being serious) whooping cough for about 4 months last year. I wouldn’t call it being sick, just TERRIBLY TERRIBLY annoying and embaressing.

    I would have to say the last time I got really sick was probably over 2 years ago.

    Heather @ http://www.forthehealthofit.01.wordpress.com

  5. March 4, 2010 10:46 PM

    You should have been born Asian. I’m Asian and I hate rice! Haha. Have you tried rice with a drizzle of sesame oil, toasted nori, and egg? That’s the traditional KOrean quick lazy breakfast!

Leave a Reply

